Christos Papoulias

Christos Papoulias, The House of the Divorced (2014), colored pencil and graphite on paper, 21 × 27 cm (framed), courtesy Christos Papoulias, Locus Athens

In Greece, between heaven and earth, we are often prompted by the rocky surface of the earth’s crust, which to architect Christos Papoulias’s eyes appears, with its sinuous cracks, as an endless city—partly visible and partly invisible. Papoulias has consistently responded to this city—notwithstanding the potent example of his teachers in Venice: Manfredo Tafuri, Carlo Scarpa, and Aldo Rossi—and to the humble dwellings found upon this particular and demanding earth, between trees and rocks, and against the infinite horizontal line of the Mediterranean Sea.

Early on, Papoulias, born in Athens in 1953, made his mark with a proposal for a museum on the Acropolis. Living just across the way, on the slope of the hill, he noticed that the infill between the Parthenon and its supporting wall covered an archaic foundation. Indeed, thanks to this intuition, he was able to recover the archeological records and to locate a wall, built with Cyclopean stones, against which he proposed to exhibit the Archaic sculptures. It is not surprising that this project was never realized.

If Sir John Soane believed that the art of architecture “is the art of invention as difficult as it is painful,” Papoulias’s architecture is as much an exhibition of pain and difficulties as it is a great invention. Sempre iniziare (always begin anew) is his motto. From one project to another, you can see his innovation, for example, in the house of artist Brice Marden, or those of the Arte Povera artists, such as Jannis Kounellis, both on the island of Hydra, or the gallery Minus Objects for Michelangelo Pistoletto. And yet, Papoulias always returns to the earth and the elements, to concrete materials; getting closer to the conscious mind without which, he says, nothing comes to be in our lives. The word for “truth” in Greek is alitheia, meaning “that which is uncovered.” We are constantly reminded in Papoulias’s projects of the earth itself being uncovered. How else could we maintain our fragile balance between the past that is no longer and the future that is not yet, unless we are able to anchor ourselves in the earth as we reach out to heaven? This is at the heart of Papoulias’s oeuvre. Again and again, he puts himself in the position of an absolute beginner. As if nothing is known and nothing could be taken for granted but the bare encounter between sentient beings and the brute materiality of the world from which, and of which, architecture is fashioned.

—Yehuda Emmanuel Safran

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Christos Papoulias

Christos Papoulias, The House of the Divorced (2014), Grafit auf Papier, 21 × 27 cm, courtesy Christos Papoulias, Locus Athens

In Griechenland, zwischen Himmel und Erde, bietet die felsige Oberfläche der Erdkruste oft die erste Herausforderung. Sie bildet mit ihren gewundenen Rissen in den Augen des Architekten Christos Papoulias eine endlose, teils sichtbare, teils unsichtbare Stadt. Ungeachtet seiner mächtigen Vorbilder und Lehrer in Venedig, Manfredo Tafuri, Carlo Scarpa und Aldo Rossi, bezieht sich Papoulias konsequent auf diese Stadt und die bescheidenen Wohnstätten, die man über der eigentümlichen und fordernden griechischen Erde zwischen Bäumen und Felsen vor dem unendlichen Horizont des Mittelmeers findet.

Weithin bekannt wurde der 1953 in Athen geborene Papoulias mit seinem Vorschlag für ein Museum auf der Akropolis. Da er auf einem Hang direkt gegenüber wohnte, kam ihm irgendwann der Gedanke, dass die Auffüllung zwischen dem Parthenon und seiner Stützmauer ein Fundament aus archaischer Zeit verdecken könnte. Dank seiner Intuition gelang es ihm, die archäologischen Aufzeichnungen wiederzufinden und eine aus Zyklopensteinen errichtete Mauer zu lokalisieren. Davor wollte er die Skulpturen aus archaischer Zeit ausstellen. Es ist nicht überraschend, dass dieses Projekt nie realisiert wurde.

Wenn Architektur, wie Sir John Soane glaubte, „die Kunst einer so schwierigen wie schmerzhaften Erfindung“ ist, dann ist die Architektur von Christos Papoulias ein Paradebeispiel für diese Mühsal und Schwierigkeit ebenso wie für eine großartige Erfindung. Sempre iniziare, stets von Neuem beginnen, lautet sein Motto. Von einem Projekt zum nächsten kann man seinen Innovationen folgen, etwa bei seinen Wohnhäusern für den Maler Brice Marden und den Arte-povera-Künstler Jannis Kounellis auf der Insel Hydra oder dem Ausstellungsraum für die Minus Objects von Michelangelo Pistoletto. Und doch kehrt Papoulias immer wieder zur Erde und ihren Elementen, zu konkreten Stoffen zurück; er nähert sich darin einer Bewusstheit, ohne die, wie er sagt, in unserem Leben nichts entstehe. Das griechische Word für Wahrheit lautet alitheia und bedeutet „freilegen“. Papoulias’ Projekte erinnern uns ständig daran, dass die Erde selbst freigelegt wird. Wie anders könnte es uns gelingen, unser prekäres Gleichgewicht zu bewahren zwischen der Vergangenheit, die nicht mehr ist, und der Zukunft, die noch kommt, wenn nicht dadurch, dass wir uns in der Erde verankern, während wir uns nach dem Himmel strecken? Dieser Gedanke bildet das Zentrum von Papoulias’ Œuvre. Stets von Neuem nimmt er die Haltung des absoluten Anfängers ein. Als wäre nichts bekannt und selbstverständlich außer der bloßen Begegnung zwischen dem empfindsamen Wesen und der rauen Stofflichkeit der Welt, aus der, und mittels deren, Architektur Form annimmt.

— Yehuda Emmanuel Safran

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook