Ganesh Haloi

Ganesh Haloi, Untitled (2016), tempera on paper, mounted on board, 47 × 72.5 cm, courtesy Ganesh Haloi and Akar Prakar, Kolkata

During one of my initial visits to his Kolkata home, Ganesh Haloi sat me down with an offering of Bengali sweets and then explained how one reads elemental shapes in our organic world. How the line, circle, and triangle exist as natural forms of geometry yet become entangled in the complexity of the world’s geographical contours. In his drawings and in his paintings on handmade paper, these figures are then decoded once they are placed on the page. Likewise, Haloi’s works are exercises in bringing life to the genre of landscape painting through the assembly of disparate symbolic forms. Throughout his oeuvre, as in his thinking, there is never a separation between the nature within and the nature without.

Haloi joined the Archaeological Survey of India as a senior artist in 1957, soon after the completion of his artistic education in Calcutta. Over six years, he meticulously studied the paintings in the caves and monasteries at Ajanta, an ancient Buddhist site that has inspired artists for centuries. There he pioneered a comparative reading of the religious iconography of the cave murals, and began to understand the role of light and natural pigments in mobilizing figuration as shadow play. Haloi supplemented his monument studies with anthropological sketches of Indigenous communities living in the area.

Buddhist philosophy has had a deep influence on Haloi’s artistic thinking and the conceptual language he has carved out. When considering the phenomenon of truth, the artist quotes a sacred text: “But in the changing things there is a constancy of law, and when the law is seen there is truth.” And yet the work is equally conditioned by the political events that have marked his lifetime. Born in a suburban district of East Bengal that is now part of Bangladesh in 1936, his aesthetic language distills memories of events such as the Bengal famine, rural-urban migration, and the genocidal partition of the Indian subcontinent that began in 1947.

Over time, Haloi has given shape to an earth-toned abstract vocabulary that draws on a vast breadth of iconography, ideas, and movements: across sacred architecture, the Indian miniature painting tradition, the pilgrim city of Varanasi, and geographic terrain (the character of agrarian topography, flora, and stratification of rocks). In his paintings, Haloi is an itinerant traveler and so is the viewer—within strangely unbound time, one takes passage across the vastness of landscape, a floating geometry, the seduction of lines.

—Natasha Ginwala

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Ganesh Haloi

Ganesh Haloi, Ohne Titel (2016), Tempera auf Papier, aufgezogen auf Holz, 47 × 72,5 cm, courtesy Ganesh Haloi und Akar Prakar, Kolkata

Es war während einer meiner ersten Besuche in seinem Zuhause in Kalkutta, als mich Ganesh Haloi bat, mich zu setzen. Nachdem er mich mit bengalischen Süßigkeiten versorgt hatte, erklärte er mir, wie man elementare Formen in unserer organischen Welt liest. Dass Linien, Kreise und Dreiecke zwar natürliche geometrische Formen, aber dennoch in den komplexen geografischen Konturen der Welt verfangen sind. In seinen Zeichnungen und Gemälden auf handgeschöpftem Papier werden diese Figuren dann, wenn sie erst ihren Platz auf der Seite gefunden haben, dechiffriert. Ähnlich sind auch Halois Arbeiten Übungen in der Kunst, mittels unterschiedlichster symbolischer Formen Leben in das Genre der Landschaftsmalerei zu bringen. Sein Werk unterscheidet ebenso wenig zwischen innerer und äußerer Natur wie sein Denken.

1957, kurz nach Abschluss seiner künstlerischen Ausbildung in Kalkutta, trat Haloi in das Archaeological Survey of India als Senior Artist ein. Sechs Jahre lang untersuchte er akribisch die Malereien in den Höhlen und Klöstern von Ajanta, einer alten buddhistischen Stätte, die seit Jahrhunderten als Inspirationsquelle für Künstler_innen dient. Er initiierte eine erste vergleichende Untersuchung zur religiösen Ikonografie der Wandmalereien in den Höhlen und lernte zu verstehen, wie Licht und natürliche Pigmente dazu beitragen, Figuren als Schattenspiel zu inszenieren. Ergänzt wurden diese Studien durch anthropologische Skizzen zu den in der Region lebenden Gemeinschaften.

Halois künstlerische Ansichten sind, ebenso wie das von ihm entwickelte konzeptuelle Vokabular, stark von der buddhistischen Philosophie beeinflusst. Bezogen auf das Phänomen der Wahrheit zitiert der Künstler einen heiligen Text: „Doch im Wechsel der Dinge liegt ein Gesetz, und wer das Gesetz erkennt, erkennt die Wahrheit.“ Aber auch die politischen Geschehnisse seiner Zeit haben das Werk des Künstlers nachhaltig geprägt. Haloi wurde 1936 in einem Randbezirk Ostbengalens geboren, der heute zu Bangladesch gehört. Seine Ästhetik nährt sich aus Erinnerungen an Ereignisse wie die Hungersnot in Bengalen, die Stadt-Land-Migration und die 1947 beginnende, einem Genozid gleichkommende Teilung des indischen Subkontinents.

Im Laufe der Zeit hat Ganesh Haloi ein erdgetöntes, abstraktes Vokabular entwickelt, das sich aus einer umfangreichen Palette an Ikonografien, Ideen und Bewegungen speist: von der Architektur sakraler Stätten über die Tradition indischer Miniaturmalerei und die heilige Stadt Varanasi bis hin zu geografischen Eigenheiten des Geländes (agrarische Topografie, Flora, Schichtung von Felsen). In seinen Gemälden ist er, ebenso wie der Betrachter, ein Reisender und Wanderer – in einer seltsam ungebundenen Zeit tauchen wir ein in die Weiten der Landschaft, in schwebende Geometrien und verführerische Linien.

— Natasha Ginwala

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook