Panos Charalambous

Panos Charalambous, DJing with agave leaves, rose thorns, and carnivorous predator (eagle), 2014

“Where do voices go when we no longer hear them?” For more than a century they would go on gramophone records, 45 rpm singles, and 12-inch vinyl LPs, but also on some very special, handmade 78 rpm records, the 10-inch acetates, which you could use to record your own voice and send to your familiars, no matter how far away they lived. Specifically, emigrants in America used them often, relying on their grooves to carry their voices across the Atlantic.

What does a collector-artist do when he discovers such an archive of records in the forgotten stacks of a secondhand shop in Athens? What kind of responsibility does he assume toward these voices, or toward the people they address? What kind of relationship can he, Panos Charalambous, born in 1955 in Aetolia-Acarnania, Greece, form with them? How should he handle the vulnerable life of these voices? And, if he decided to return them to their original recipients, when, where, and how to do so?

Every time these records are played, they are irreparably worn. The voices have been engraved on sensitive material, susceptible to time and duration. Every temporary resurrection promotes their total annihilation; they can only exist if one assumes responsibility for their precarious existence, accepting their course to destruction by resurrecting them one more time; taking their lives into one’s hands and brushing aside the fear of their death.

Are some resurrections, however, more valuable than others? The needle does not catch in the grooves the same way each time: the voices may return even more clearly, despite the noise from the material of the record itself, from the deep cuts and the painful scratches. It may only take the right room, perhaps the room where the voices were first listened to, under the photographs that preserve the image of the people speaking, when images finally meet their voices once again, along with the living voices of the people who recognize them, for memory to speak. Ruins as well as resurrections, these vocal monuments are the “black marble” of the last century.

—Panayotis Panopoulos

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Panos Charalambous

“Where do voices go when we no longer hear them?” For more than a century they would go on gramophone records, 45 rpm singles, and 12-inch vinyl LPs, but also on some very special, handmade 78 rpm…

 More
Artists

All the in-between spaces

with Pina Bounce, Panos Charalambous, Mette Henriette, and Katalin Ladik

Performances
8:30 pm Mette Henriette
9:00 pm Katalin Ladik
9:45 pm Pina Bounce
10:45 pm Panos Charalamboous

“All the in-between spaces” is the title of a series of concerts and activities in dialogue with…

 More
Calendar

Panos Charalambous

Panos Charalambous, DJing with agave leaves, rose thorns, and carnivorous predator (eagle), 2014

„Wohin wandern die Stimmen, wenn wir sie nicht mehr hören?“ Über mehr als ein Jahrhundert wurden sie auf Schallplatten gepresst, zumeist Singles mit 45 U/min und 12-Zoll-Vinyl-LPs, seltener auf besondere handgefertigte Acetat-Scheiben mit 10 Zoll Durchmesser und 78 U/min, die man selbst besprechen und an Freund_innen und Verwandte überall auf der Welt verschicken konnte. Vor allem Auswanderer_innen in den Vereinigten Staaten vertrauten den Rillen ihre Stimmen an, damit sie den Weg über den Atlantik fanden.

Was macht ein Sammler-Künstler, wenn er unter den vergessenen Stapeln eines Athener Trödelladens ein ganzes Archiv solcher Aufnahmen entdeckt? Welche Verantwortung trägt er gegenüber diesen Stimmen oder den Menschen, an die sie sich wenden? Welchen Bezug kann Panos Charalambous, geboren 1955 in der westgriechischen Region Ätolien-Akarnanien, zu ihnen herstellen? Wie sollte er mit dem verletzlichen Leben dieser Stimmen umgehen? Und für den Fall, dass er sich entschlösse, sie ihren eigentlichen Empfänger_innen zurückzugeben: Wann, wo und wie könnte das geschehen?

Mit jedem Abspielen nutzen sich Schallplatten unweigerlich ab. Die Stimmen sind in ein empfindliches Material graviert, das Dauer und Zeit nicht standhält. Jede momentane Wiederbelebung beschleunigt ihre endgültige Auslöschung. Sie können nur weiterhin bestehen, wenn jemand Verantwortung für ihre fragile Existenz übernimmt und ihren Zerfall durch das erneute Aufleben akzeptiert. Wenn sich jemand ihrer Lebendigkeit annimmt und die Angst vor dem Tod verwischt.

Sind manche Wiederbelebungen vielleicht wertvoller als andere? Die Nadel verfängt sich immer wieder auf unterschiedliche Weise in der Rille. Bei einem neuen Versuch könnten die Stimmen noch klarer klingen als zuvor, trotz des Geräusches, das die Platte selbst verursacht, und trotz der tiefen Einschnitte und schmerzvollen Kratzer. Vielleicht braucht es nur den richtigen Raum. Vielleicht der Raum, in dem die Stimmen ursprünglich gehört wurden, unter den Fotografien, die das Bild der Sprechenden bewahren. Wenn die Bilder endlich wieder auf ihre eigenen Stimmen und die lebendigen Stimmen derer treffen, die sie wiedererkennen, wird Erinnerung zum Sprechen gebracht. Zerfall und Wiederauferstehung zur gleichen Zeit: Diese Stimmdenkmäler sind der „schwarze Marmor“ des vergangenen Jahrhunderts.

— Panayotis Panopoulos

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

#5 documenta 6
From a Jacob's Ladder to a TV Bed

mit Panos Charalambous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris

Panos Charalampous, Katerina Tselou und Zafos Xagoraris setzen im Jahr 1977 an, nämlich bei der von Manfred Schneckenburger kuratierten documenta 6. Sie präsentieren verschiedene künstlerische Multimedia-Experimente…

 Mehr
Kalender

All the in-between spaces

mit Pina Bounce, Panos Charalambous, Mette Henriette und Katalin Ladik

Performances
8:30 pm Mette Henriette: In between
9:00 pm Katalin Ladik: Follow me into mythology
9:15 pm Pina Bounce: Trumpethood
10:00 pm Panos Charalambous: Voice-O-Graph

„All the in-between spaces“…

 Mehr
Kalender