Theo Eshetu

Theo Eshetu, The Return of Axum Obelisk (2009), fifteen-channel video installation, color, sound, 26:45 min.

In spring 2014, Theo Eshetu happened to be filming the Ethnologisches Museum Berlin in the southwestern suburb of Dahlem as workers were taking down a banner to ready the facade for the 8th Berlin Biennale. The museum houses collections that will be brought to the center of Berlin upon the completion of the controversial reconstruction of the Stadtschloss—controversial because it required the demolition of the GDR-era Palast der Republik, and because the connection of the Dahlem collections to colonial policy will be heightened by their planned reinstallation within an imperial architectural shell.

The banner in question showed five masks, subtitled with the five regions represented in the museum’s collection: Afrika, Amerika, Ozeanien, Asien, Europa. As the graphic design carved up and named the world, so the workmen made quick cuts to the banner to facilitate the disposal of the printed plastic. Museum became Muse, Eshetu pointed out to me on Filopappou, or the Hill of the Nine Muses, when he visited Athens in April 2016. Before the cut-up banner was discarded, the artist had saved the material and put it aside for the future, which is now.

The personal take on popular images, even clichés of culture, has animated the imagination of Eshetu (who was born in London in 1958) since his earliest video artworks (and later, his work with television). His 2002 documentary Africanized combines well-worn visual and sonic tropes with more intimate documentation of a syncretic religious ceremony on Mount Zuqualla, Ethiopia, and the DanceAfrica Festival in Brooklyn, New York, pondering how disparate images of this most contested continent and its diaspora resonate. There is no attempt to formulate a rationale for relating disparate scenes, rather a guiding rhythm.

At the time of writing, it is not clear how the mask-images from Dahlem will figure in Eshetu’s work for documenta 14, though it is clear that this flattening and thereby masking of the five continents is a point of departure. Pardon the pun—the artist does have a sense of humor in approaching these weighty subjects. Thalia, the Muse of Comedy, has always been a friend. Other friends and casual passersby have been invited to the studio recently. Images—including fragments of the banner—were projected onto their faces and then recorded on video. I wonder what they said about the Stadtschloss, the possibilities of re-presenting, and the communicability of a face.

—Monika Szewczyk

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Atlas Radio

by Theo Eshetu and Keir Fraser

This is the radio version of the soundtrack Theo Eshetu made with Keir Fraser for the video Atlas Fractured that is presented at documenta 14. With quotes from Carl Jung, James Baldwin, Langston Hughes…

 More
Public Radio

Theo Eshetu

Theo Eshetu, The Return of Axum Obelisk (2009), 15-Kanal-Video- und Klanginstallation, Farbe, Ton, 26:45 Min.

Im Frühjahr 2014 filmte Theo Eshetu zufällig das Ethnologische Museum in Berlin-Dahlem, als Arbeiter ein Banner abnahmen, um die Museumsfassade für die 8. Berlin Biennale vorzubereiten. Die Sammlungen des Museums werden nach Fertigstellung der umstrittenen Stadtschloss-Rekonstruktion in die historische Mitte Berlins gebracht – umstritten deshalb, weil der aus DDR-Zeiten stammende Palast der Republik dem Schloss weichen musste und der Zusammenhang der Dahlemer Sammlungen mit der deutschen Kolonialpolitik durch die geplante Neuinstallation in einer imperialen architektonischen Hülle nur noch augenfälliger wird.

Das fragliche Banner zeigte fünf Masken und nannte als Untertitel die fünf in der Sammlung des Museums vertretenen Regionen: Afrika, Amerika, Ozeanien, Asien, Europa. So wie die grafische Gestaltung die Welt zerlegte und benannte, so zertrennten die Arbeiter die bedruckte Kunststofffolie mit schnellen Schnitten, um sie leichter zu entsorgen. Das Museum wurde zur Muse, wie Eshetu im April 2016 bei seinem Besuch auf Filopappou – dem Hügel der neun Musen des Apollon – in Athen erläuterte. Doch bevor das zerschnittene Banner entsorgt werden konnte, hatte der Künstler das Material gerettet und für die Zukunft, die jetzt ist, beiseitegeschafft.

Die persönliche Sicht auf beliebte Bilder, ja sogar kulturelle Klischees regt die Fantasie des 1958 in London geborenen Eshetu seit seinen frühesten Videoarbeiten (und seinen späteren Arbeiten für das Fernsehen) an. Sein Dokumentarfilm Africanized aus dem Jahr 2002 verknüpft abgegriffene optische und akustische Tropen mit der intimeren Dokumentation einer synkretistischen religiösen Zeremonie auf dem Berg Zuqualla in Äthiopien und dem Dance Africa Festival in Brooklyn, New York, und stellt so Überlegungen darüber an, wie disparate Bilder dieses höchst umkämpften Kontinents und seiner Diaspora nachwirken. Der Filmemacher unternimmt dabei keinerlei Versuch, die Abfolge disparater Szenen logisch zu begründen, sondern schafft vielmehr einen Leitrhythmus.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Abfassung dieses Textes ist noch nicht klar, wie die Maskenbilder aus Dahlem in Eshetus Arbeit für die documenta 14 einfließen werden. Klar ist jedoch, dass diese Verflachung und die daraus folgende Verschleierung der fünf Kontinente ein Ausgangspunkt ist. Der Künstler geht seine gewichtigen Themen mit einer guten Portion Humor an. Thalia, die Muse der Komödie, war schon immer seine Freundin. Andere Freund_innen und zufällige Passant_innen lud er vor Kurzem in sein Atelier ein. Bilder – darunter Fragmente des Banners – wurden auf ihre Gesichter projiziert und dann auf Video aufgenommen. Was sie wohl über das Stadtschloss, die Möglichkeiten von Repräsentation und die Kommunizierbarkeit eines Gesichts sagen?

— Monika Szewczyk

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Atlas Radio

von Theo Eshetu und Keir Fraser

Das ist die Radiofassung des Soundtracks, den Theo Eshetu und Keir Fraser für das Video Atlas Fractured geschaffen haben, das auf der documenta 14 präsentiert wird. Mit Zitaten von Carl Gustav Jung…

 Mehr
Öffentliches Radio