Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt

Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt, In Vain (1972), carbon copy of typewriting, 29.5 × 21 cm, courtesy Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt and ChertLüdde, Berlin

These works traveled the globe, sent as postcards from Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt in the GDR capital of Berlin to Western Europe, the Eastern Bloc, North America, Latin America, Asia, New Caledonia. No rules and no restrictions, besides formats and postage fees to ensure circulation: by distributing free artworks to a community of participants along rhizomatic routes, mail art eluded the diktats of censorship and market alike. Kunstpostbriefe (art letters) operated as free spaces of exhibition, exchange, and personal correspondence.

Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt worked with letters, literally. Starting in the early 1970s, the artist (who was born in Wurzen in 1932) created series of “typewritings”—her definition—by combining Teutonic rigor with a subversive sense of humor. Under her fingers, the black and red characters of an Erika Schreibmaschine became patterns, butterflies, waves, abstract compositions, diagrams of fluxes, woven lines of poetry, with titles like be but be aware not to be a ware (ca. 1970–75), Introverse Extroverse (1975), Try and Error (1975), Defeat/Victory (ca. 1970s), Cages on the Run (ca. 1980s). Employed as an office manager, and working as a self-taught artist under a regime of strict surveillance, it was only by turning herself into a typist—a stereotypical female job—that she could dictate the content of her pages. She practiced camouflage: aptly “sterilized” and imbued with mechanic anonymity, her signs resisted alienation to broadcast free messages and to communicate openly. Concrete Shoe (ca. 1970s)—in which disciplined troops of C’s, O’s, and N’s outline a clumsy mid-heeled female shoe—stands both as ironic icon of concrete poetry and symbol of obstructed movement and the artist’s need to overcome it.

With endless patience: mailing involves long intervals of suspense shared by sender and addressee, who alternately exercise desire and longing. “WAIT AWAIT EXPECT WAIT,” say the last lines of Wait (ca. 1973). In the meantime, Wolf-Rehfeldt kept working and mailing, as did her husband, the artist Robert Rehfeldt, while their studio on Mendelstrasse, in East Berlin’s Pankow, became a hub for the local and international art community. The State Association of Artists of the GDR allowed its members to print fifty signed copies of each graphic work, so Wolf-Rehfeldt’s originals piled up in her archive while their deceptively self-effacing replicas circulated around the world. They continued to do so until 1989: after the German reunification, the artist decided to halt her output. There was simply no need for it anymore, she explained.

—Barbara Casavecchia

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt

Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt, In Vain (1972), Kohlepapierdurchschrift von der Schreibmaschine, 29,5 × 21 cm, courtesy Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt und ChertLüdde, Berlin

Diese Werke haben die Welt bereist, versendet als Postkarten, die Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt aus der DDR-Hauptstadt Berlin nach Westeuropa, in den Ostblock, nach Nord- und Lateinamerika, Asien und Neukaledonien schickte. Es gab keine Regeln oder Beschränkungen – sieht man von den postalischen Formatvorgaben und Portogebühren ab. Mail-Art entzog sich der Diktatur von Zensur und Markt, indem Kunstwerke kostenlos mittels weitverzweigter Netze in Umlauf gebracht wurden. „Kunstpostbriefe“ boten Freiräume für das Zurschaustellen von Kunst, für Austausch und persönliche Korrespondenz.

Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt, geboren 1932 in Wurzen, arbeitete in buchstäblichem Sinn mit Buchstaben. Ab den frühen 1970er Jahren schuf sie Serien von Schreibmaschinengrafiken – von ihr selbst als Typewritings bezeichnet –, in denen teutonische Präzision auf subversiven Humor traf. Unter ihren Händen wurden die schwarzen und roten Zeichen ihrer Erika-Schreibmaschine zu Mustern, Schmetterlingen, Wellen, abstrakten Kompositionen, zu fließenden Strukturen und kunstvoll gewobener Poesie, mit Titeln wie be but be aware not to be a ware (ca. 1970–1975), Introverse Extroverse (1975), Try and Error (1975), Defeat/Victory (1970er Jahre) und Cages on the Run (1980er Jahre). Als angestellte Büroleiterin und autodidaktische Künstlerin in einem umfassenden Überwachungsstaat konnte sie nur in der Rolle der „Schreibkraft“ – einem typisch weiblichen Beruf – frei den Inhalt ihrer Seiten diktieren. Ein Tarnungsmanöver: Ihre Zeichen, „sterilisiert“ und mechanisch anonym zugleich, widersetzten sich der Restriktion der Meinungsfreiheit und ermöglichten eine offene Kommunikation. Concrete Shoe (1970er Jahre) zeigt Heerscharen von Cs, Os und Ns, die sich diszipliniert zu einem klobigen Damenschuh mit mittelhohem Absatz formen. Es kann als ironisches Beispiel konkreter Poesie ebenso gelesen werden wie als Symbol für Bewegungseinschränkungen und den Wunsch der Künstlerin, diese zu überwinden.

Mit grenzenloser Geduld: Postalische Kommunikation ist durch lange Zeitspannen der Ungewissheit aufseiten von Sender_in und Empfänger_in gekennzeichnet, die sich in ihrem Verlangen und ihrer Sehnsucht abwechseln. „WAIT AWAIT EXPECT WAIT“ lauten die letzten Zeilen von Wait (ca. 1973). Ruth Wolf-Rehfeldt indessen arbeitete und korrespondierte weiter, wie auch ihr Mann, der Künstler Robert Rehfeldt, während ihr Atelier in der Mendelstraße im Ost-Berliner Bezirk Pankow zu einem Mittelpunkt der lokalen und internationalen Kunstszene wurde. Der Verband Bildender Künstler der DDR gestattete seinen Mitgliedern, jeweils fünfzig signierte Exemplare eines grafischen Werks zu drucken. So stapelten sich Wolf-Rehfeldts Originale in ihrem Archiv, während die unscheinbaren Kopien auf der ganzen Welt zirkulierten. Und zwar bis 1989. Mit der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands beendete Wolf-Rehfeldt ihre künstlerische Aktivität. Es gäbe schlichtweg keinen Bedarf mehr dafür, lautete ihre Erklärung.

— Barbara Casavecchia

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook