Tracey Rose

Tracey Rose, Art Thou Not Fair: KniggerKhaffirKhoon aka “KKK” (2014), featuring The Back of Disneyland, a radio play by Reikanne Mofokeng, performance, Art Basel Miami Beach, 2014, courtesy Tracey Rose and Dan Gunn, Berlin

I first met Tracey Rose eleven years ago. I was researching the connections between healing and art in the work of contemporary artists from Africa. There was something in her art that spoke of the shaman, the alchemist, the revealer of wounds, the reorderer of worlds. From the beginning, I loved all the facets of her and of her work: the mischief and joy and delight of the girl; the boundless sensuality and wisdom of the woman; the vastness of spirit, placing her somewhere between this plane and another, channeling perpetually distant truths, some more gentle and others with more violent vibratory force. The starting point of the artist, born in Durban in 1974, seems to be her own naked subjectivity and at the same time its deconstruction. As seen in the early video work TKO (Technical Knockout) (2000), where she continuously boxes at a punching bag that holds the recording camera, the eye or I, both mirror and observer, battling the construct of self to what might lie underneath.

These acts of revelation, through stripping away or conversely through layering up, or further still exaggerating to the point of the carnivalesque, expand beyond the individual to the collective, often feminine, self. In the tableau piece Ciao Bella (2001), Rose embodies various caricatures of beauty, from porn star Cicciolina to the European Queen, invoking those forms of masking and masquerade that in their grotesque heightening of contour, of color, of symbolism, reveal an essence usually hidden. In turning upside down, and inside out, weighted mythologies of genesis, such as the inversion of biblical narratives in the photographic series “Lucie’s Fur” (2003–04), Adam and Eve become Adam and Yves, and Jesus becomes a gay South African woman; Rose effects a reordering of given realities. Again, those on the wrong side of history are honored and called into the present in The Black Paintings: Dead White Man (2012), where Tracey shouts the mantra “white” over and over again at placards bearing the names of Salvador Allende, Steve Biko, Martin Luther King, Patrice Lumumba, and others, disarming the seemingly harmless word of its insidious neutrality, bringing to the fore its power to dominate, suppress, and violate.

Rituals of revelation and rituals of reordering are what Rose offers: the uncovering and recalibration of histories of violence, of women’s often unspoken presence in these histories, and of the limits and limitlessness of language and of these tellings, and through all this, the healing of some of the ruptures of self.

—Nana Oforiatta Ayim

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Tracey Rose

Tracey Rose, Art Thou Not Fair: KniggerKhaffirKhoon aka “KKK” (2014), mit The Back of Disneyland, einem Hörspiel von Reikanne Mofokeng, Performance, Art Basel Miami Beach, 2014, courtesy Tracey Rose und Dan Gunn, Berlin

Ich begegnete Tracey Rose erstmals vor elf Jahren, als ich die Verbindung zwischen Heilen und Kunst in den Arbeiten moderner afrikanischer Künstler_innen recherchierte. In Roses Werk klangen schamanistische und alchemistische Aspekte an, das Aufdecken von Wunden und Neuordnen von Welten. Von Anfang an liebte ich sie und ihre Arbeit in allen Facetten: ihre mädchenhafte Schalkhaftigkeit, Freude und Begeisterung; die grenzenlose Sinnlichkeit und Weisheit der Frau; die ungeheure Weite ihres Geistes, die sie irgendwo zwischen dieser und einer anderen Welt verortet, als unermüdliche Vermittlerin ferner Wahrheiten, manche davon sanft, andere brachialer, aufrüttelnder. Ausgangspunkt der 1974 in Durban geborenen Künstlerin scheint ihre eigene unverhüllte Subjektivität und deren Dekonstruktion zu sein. Dies zeigt sich in TKO (Technical Knockout) (2000), einer frühen Videoarbeit, in der Rose unablässig auf einen Sandsack einschlägt, auf dem auch das Aufnahmegerät angebracht ist. Kameraauge oder Ich, Spiegel und Beobachter_in zugleich, ein Kampf gegen das konstruierte Selbst, um freizulegen, was sich darunter befindet.

Diese Akte des Enthüllens, durch Prozesse des Abstreifens ebenso wie durch das Aufbringen neuer Schichten oder gar mittels karnevalesker Übertreibungen, erstrecken sich über das Individuum hinaus zu einem kollektiven, nicht selten weiblichen Selbst. In dem Tableau Ciao Bella (2001) stellt Rose unterschiedliche Karikaturen der Schönheit dar, vom Pornostar Cicciolina bis zur European Queen, und spielt dabei mit Masken und Maskeraden, die durch das groteske Überspitzen von Konturen, Farben und Symbolen eine meist verborgene Essenz bloßlegen. Zentrale Schöpfungsmythologien werden auf den Kopf gestellt, ihr Innerstes nach außen gekehrt, um bestehende Wirklichkeiten neu zu ordnen. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Umkehrung biblischer Narrative in der Fotoserie „Lucie’s Fur“ (2003/04), in der Adam und Eva zu Adam und Yves werden und Jesus sich in eine lesbische südafrikanische Frau verwandelt. Auch in The Black Paintings: Dead White Man (2012) holt die Künstlerin jene in die Gegenwart, die auf der falschen Seite der Geschichte standen, und zollt ihnen Anerkennung. Wenn sie Plakaten mit den Namen von Salvador Allende, Steve Biko, Martin Luther King, Patrice Lumumba und anderen immer wieder das Mantra „white“ (weiß) entgegenschreit, beraubt sie das vermeintlich harmlose Wort seiner heimtückischen Neutralität und entlarvt seine Macht zu herrschen, zu unterdrücken und zu verletzen. Tracey Rose spielt mit Ritualen des Enthüllens und des Neuordnens: Sie deckt Geschichten von Gewalt auf und vermisst sie neu – die oft unerwähnte Rolle der Frauen in diesen Geschichten, die (Un-)Begrenztheit der Sprache und des Erzählten – und kittet auf diese Weise so manche Bruchlinie des Selbst.

— Nana Oforiatta Ayim

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook