Sanja Iveković

Sanja Iveković, Lady Rosa of Luxembourg (2001), gilded polyester and wood, public art project, Luxembourg

Born in Zagreb in 1949, Sanja Iveković first came to prominence as part of the New Art Practice, a generation of artists in Socialist Yugoslavia which emerged after the student protests of 1968. Rejecting the official modernist art paradigm, they instigated a wide social, cultural, and institutional critique through “new media” such as performance and video art.

Ever since, Iveković has been critically reflecting on the construction of gender roles, the relations between private and public, and the institutional frameworks in the cultural field. In the new nation-state of Croatia, her work scrutinized the contamination of the public sphere by reactionary nationalism, as well as collective amnesia about its anti-fascist past. Her work has also addressed violence against women and the forms of predatory capitalism to emerge in the 1990s.

Iveković’s strong feminist stance is a constant in her long career, from canonical work such as Double Life (1975), Triangle (1979), and Personal Cuts (1982) to recent large-scale public art projects in collaboration with activist organizations, such as Women’s House (1998–2003) or Poppy Field (2007) for documenta 12. Iveković’s oeuvre is characterized by political intervention into the hegemonic cultures and politics of memory. These works appear as figurative “counter-memorials,” as in Lady Rosa of Luxembourg (2001), or “living memorials,” as in the case of Rohrbach Living Memorial (2005), which commemorates Roma and Sinti victims of Nazism, and On the Barricades (2010), dedicated to the 1980 Gwangju People’s Uprising.

Iveković’s project for documenta 14 continues to interweave memory and political resistance. It borrows its form from the Monument to the November Revolution (1926) commissioned by the German Communist Party, designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, and destroyed by the Nazis in 1935. Iveković’s project to reconstruct the foundations of the monument questions the relationship between revolution and commemoration, catalyzing debate around the construction and deconstruction of public memory.

The monument becomes a pretext for new forms of political action, based on fidelity to historical struggles but offering a stage for the future. In our times of growing fascism, neoliberal capitalist imperialism, and financial warfare, Iveković’s Monument to Revolution is both a cautionary reminder of the past, an object to be contested, and a material invocation.

—Antonia Majaca

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Lady R

by Sofia Mavragani

Inspired by the last speech of Rosa Luxemburg, Lady R takes place in the context of the public art project Monument to Revolution by Sanja Iveković.

 More
Calendar

Art of the Possible: Towards an International Antifascist Feminist Front

by Angela Dimitrakaki and Antonia Majaca

As a response to the public art project Monument to Revolution by Sanja Iveković, this multi-lingual oral document brings together the voices of some thirty artists, theorists, and activists who reflect…

 More
Calendar

Sanja Iveković

Sanja Iveković, Lady Rosa of Luxembourg (2001), vergoldetes Polyester und Holz, Kunstprojekt im öffentlichen Raum, Luxemburg

Sanja Iveković, 1949 in Zagreb geboren, wurde als Mitglied der Neuen Kunstpraxis bekannt, einer Künstlergeneration in der Sozialistischen Republik Jugoslawien, die nach den Studentenprotesten von 1968 in Erscheinung trat. Die Gruppe lehnte das offizielle modernistische Kunstparadigma ab und initiierte eine weitreichende kritische Analyse sozialer, kultureller und institutioneller Fragen, wobei sie auf „neue Medien“ wie Performance und Videokunst zurückgriff.

Seit diesen Anfängen setzt sich Iveković kritisch mit der Konstruktion von Geschlechterrollen, mit dem Verhältnis von privater und öffentlicher Sphäre und mit den institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen des Kulturbetriebs auseinander. Im neu gegründeten Nationalstaat Kroatien untersuchte sie die Kontamination des öffentlichen Raums durch reaktionäre nationalistische Prozesse sowie die kollektive Amnesie angesichts der antifaschistischen Vergangenheit des Landes. Auch Gewalt gegen Frauen und die seit den 1990er Jahren zu beobachtenden Formen des Raubtierkapitalismus sind Themen ihrer Arbeit.

Ivekovićs überzeugte feministische Haltung ist eine Konstante in ihrer langjährigen künstlerischen Laufbahn, von richtungsweisenden Arbeiten wie Double Life (1975), Triangle (1979) und Personal Cuts (1982) bis hin zu groß angelegten öffentlichen Kunstprojekten der jüngeren Zeit, die gemeinsam mit Aktivistengruppen realisiert wurden, darunter Women’s House (1998–2003) und Mohnfeld (2007) für die documenta 12. Politische Interventionen in hegemoniale Formen der Erinnerungspolitik und -kultur sind charakteristisch für das Werk der Künstlerin. Diese Arbeiten erscheinen als metaphorische „Gegen-Denkmale“ wie in Lady Rosa of Luxembourg (2001) oder als „lebende Denkmale“ wie im Fall von Rohrbach Living Memorial (2005), das die von den Nazis verfolgten Roma und Sinti würdigt, und On the Barricades (2010), das dem Gwangju-Aufstand von 1980 gewidmet ist.

Auch Ivekovićs Projekt für die documenta 14 führt diese Verflechtung von Erinnerung und politischem Widerstand fort. Es ist vom Denkmal für Karl Liebknecht und Rosa Luxemburg (1926) inspiriert, das von der Kommunistischen Partei Deutschlands in Auftrag gegeben, von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe gestaltet und von den Nazis 1935 zerstört wurde. Mit ihrem Konzept, die Fundamente des Denkmals zu rekonstruieren, hinterfragt die Künstlerin das Verhältnis zwischen Revolution und Gedenken und stößt eine Debatte rund um die Konstruktion und Dekonstruktion öffentlicher Erinnerung an.

Das Denkmal wird zu einem Vorwand für neue Formen des politischen Handelns, basierend auf der Treue zu historischen Kämpfen und gleichzeitig der Zukunft eine Bühne bietend. In einer Zeit, in der Faschismus, neoliberal-kapitalistischer Imperialismus und finanzielle Kriegsführung immer mehr an Terrain gewinnen, ist Sanja Ivekovićs Monument to Revolution mahnende Erinnerung an die Vergangenheit, kontroverses Objekt und dinghafte Anrufung zugleich.

— Antonia Majaca

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Lady R

von Sofia Mavragani

Inspiriert von der letzten Rede Rosa Luxemburgs, findet Lady R im Kontext des öffentlichen Kunstprojekts Monument to Revolution von Sanja Iveković statt.

 Mehr
Kalender

Art of the Possible: Towards an Antifascist Feminist Front
Eine Initiative von Angela Dimitrakaki und Antonia Majaca in Kollaboration mit Sanja Iveković

Als eine Antwort auf das öffentliche Kunstprojekt Monument to Revolution von Sanja Iveković, vereint dieser mehrsprachig gesprochener Akt die Stimmen von etwa dreißig Künstler_innen, Theoretiker_innen…

 Mehr
Kalender