Marina Gioti

Marina Gioti, To krifó scholió (The secret school, 2009), digital video, black-and-white, sound, 11 min.

What are the commonalities between two 1980s commercials, one in which a blonde couple are vigorously playing something between racquetball and softball on a beach near Athens to the Dead Κennedys song “California Über Alles”; and the other, depicting a young Greek housewife frantically cleaning her already-sparkling windows while reaching a state of nirvana? And how would these commercials then relate to a short propaganda film from the junta years in Athens (1967–74), in which a family, wandering through a museum of Greek history, discusses the concept of “patriotic duty,” with the words of the elders and priests beginning to sound like satanic verses? Further still, how do these moving images connect to the recorded wanderings of an ethnomusicologist, the underground Lebanese-American musician Alan Bishop—member of the legendary Sun City Girls band and cofounder of the Sublime Frequencies label—who decided to move to Cairo shortly after the 2011 uprising to work with local musicians?

While there may seem to be no relation between these works, they make up the necessary components of one trajectory: the ongoing research and interventional observation of “history” by Marina Gioti. Influenced by a punk ethos, the artist, born in 1972 and living in Athens, adopts alternative methodologies and reveals narratives parallel to the official record. She often processes found footage from TV and cinema that she “stumbles across” in order to shed light on that which is forgotten, revisited through a critical lens. Her aim is not only to comment on the construction of the past but to also examine an invention of history in the present.

Gioti’s film works denounce the binary logic of the local and the global—whether exploring the syndrome of the “American Dream” or that of the “good housewife,” the narrative around the Church single-handedly preserving the Greek language under Ottoman rule, or the recording of a music album amid political uncertainty in Egypt. They often comment on the schizophrenia that such a logic can cause, particularly in outlying realities like that of Greece; sharing cultural affinities with Africa and the Middle East, it is also the imagined cradle of Western civilization.

—Marina Fokidis

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

The Invisible Hands

by Marina Gioti

Marina Gioti, The Invisible Hands, 2017, Egypt/Greece, 93 min.
In English and Arabic with English and Greek subtitles

May 23: Special screening with the director
Q&A with Marina Gioti (documenta 14 artist…

 More
Calendar

The Invisible Hands

by Marina Gioti

Marina Gioti, The Invisible Hands, 2017, Egypt/Greece, 93 min.
In English and Arabic with English and Greek subtitles

Maverick underground American/Lebanese musician and ethnomusicologist Alan Bishop (of…

 More
Calendar

The Invisible Hands

by Marina Gioti

American musician Alan Bishop arrives in Cairo shortly after the 2011 uprisings and sets up a band with three young local musicians. Unfolding between two critical elections, The Invisible Hands juxtaposes…

 More
Calendar

Marina Gioti

Marina Gioti, To krifó scholió (Die geheime Schule, 2009), Digitalvideo, schwarz-weiß, Ton, 11 min

Ein blondes Paar, das auf einem Strand nahe Athen mit vollem Einsatz eine Mischung aus Racquetball und Softball spielt, begleitet von den Dead Kennedys und „California Über Alles“. Eine junge griechische Hausfrau, die fieberhaft ihre bereits blitzblanken Fenster putzt und dabei einen Zustand der Glückseligkeit erlebt. Was haben diese beiden Werbespots aus den 1980er Jahren gemeinsam? Und in welcher Beziehung stehen sie zu einem kurzen Propagandafilm aus der Zeit der griechischen Militärdiktatur (1967–1974), in dem eine Familie durch ein Museum der griechischen Geschichte wandert und über die Idee der „patriotischen Pflicht“ diskutiert, wobei die Worte der Älteren und Priester immer mehr an satanische Verse erinnern? Zudem: Was verbindet diese bewegten Bilder mit den aufgezeichneten Streifzügen des Musikethnologen und libanesisch-amerikanischen Underground-Musikers Alan Bishop – Teil der legendären Sun City Girls und Mitbegründer des Labels Sublime Frequencies –, der kurz nach dem Aufstand von 2011 beschloss, nach Kairo zu ziehen, um dort mit lokalen Musiker_innen zu arbeiten?

All diese Werke sind – auch wenn sie auf den ersten Blick wenig Verbindendes haben mögen – unverzichtbare Elemente eines einzigen Projekts: Marina Giotis kontinuierliche, durch künstlerische Interventionen geprägte Auseinandersetzung mit „Geschichte“. Beeinflusst vom Geist des Punk, spürt die 1972 geborene und in Athen lebende Künstlerin anhand alternativer Methoden jenen Narrativen nach, die hinter der offiziellen Geschichtsschreibung verborgen sind. So bearbeitet sie immer wieder „zufällig entdecktes“ Filmmaterial aus Fernsehen und Kino, um Vergessenes ans Tageslicht zu bringen und einer kritischen Überprüfung zu unterziehen. Dabei geht es Gioti nicht nur um die Beschäftigung mit der Frage, wie Vergangenheit konstruiert wird, sondern auch um das Erfinden von Geschichte in der Gegenwart.

In ihren Filmen prangert sie die binäre Logik des Lokalen und Globalen an – ob sie nun das Phänomen des „amerikanischen Traums“ untersucht oder jenes der „guten Hausfrau“, das Narrativ von der einzigartigen Rolle der Kirche bei der Bewahrung der griechischen Sprache im Osmanischen Reich oder den Entstehungsprozess eines Musikalbums in politisch unsicherer Zeit in Ägypten. Marina Giotis Arbeiten werfen nicht selten ein Schlaglicht auf die potenzielle Schizophrenie, die aus dieser Logik resultiert – insbesondere in peripheren Realitäten, wie sie für Griechenland charakteristisch sind, das nicht nur als Wiege der abendländischen Zivilisation gilt, sondern sich kulturell auch Afrika und dem Nahen Osten verbunden fühlt.

— Marina Fokidis

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

The Invisible Hands

von Marina Gioti

Marina Gioti, The Invisible Hands, 2017, Ägypten/Griechenland, 93 Min.
Auf Englisch und Arabisch mit englischen und griechischen Untertiteln

23. Mai: Sondervorführung in Anwesenheit der Regisseurin
Q&A…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Invisible Hands

von Marina Gioti

Marina Gioti, The Invisible Hands, 2017, Ägypten/Griechenland, 93 Min.
Auf Englisch und Arabisch mit englischen und griechischen Untertiteln

Der amerikanisch-libanesische Underground-Renegat, Musiker und…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Invisible Hands

von Marina Gioti

Der amerikanische Musiker Alan Bishop kommt kurz nach den Aufst­änden von 2011 in Kairo an und gründet mit drei jungen ortsansässigen Musikern eine Band. Im Zeitraum zwischen zwei wichtigen Wahlen…

 Mehr
Kalender