Phia Ménard

Phia Ménard and Anne-James Chaton, Black Monodie (2010), performance, Compagnie Non Nova, Festival d’Avignon, July 2010, photo: Jean-Luc Beaujault

Phia Ménard’s movement and gesture work deals with mutation, trans-portation, and transition between preestablished genders and genres: from straight to queer, from masculinity to femininity, from popular art to fine art, from circus and jonglerie to dance, from mime to performance art. This displaced practice cannot be defined simply as dance or theater; rather, it is an exploration and dismantling of the political status of performative action and the limits between the biological and the theatrical body.

In 1998, at age twenty-seven, Ménard founded the company Non Nova, which aimed to transform juggling and mime by opening them up to the language of contemporary art. The group claimed the status of art for these “lesser” forms while defending and extolling the circus’s closeness to working-class culture, as well as to the popular codes of festivals and vaudeville. Ménard’s gender transition in 2008 led to a redefinition of her theatrical language, emphasizing impermanence in the face of the stiff, inflexible stage. Her transitioning performances involve encounters of the artist’s body with raw materials in a state of transformation.

In P. P. P. (2008), created when Ménard began taking hormones, she confronts ice as it moves from its threatening, solid state into one of complete fluidity, juggling 120 balls of ice, each weighing two kilos. As with the taking of hormones, biochemical and material precision is key: a little heavier and the balls of ice would be enough to injure her, a little less and they would too quickly melt. In L’après-midi d’un foehn (Afternoon of a Foehn) and Vortex (both 2011), Ménard adjusts an invisible element, air, in performances involving a circle of fans, floating plastic bags, and billows of sheeting. In Belle d’hier (Yesterday’s beauty, 2015), a piece for five ballet dancers, she stays inside a subzero freezer locker for several hours, working on the frozen dresses that are used during the one-and-a-half-hour performance. If the first works Ménard made after 2008 explored gender transition as a material, biopolitical process—fighting against ice as one fights against imposed sexual and political identities—the most recent work deepens a critique of hetero-patriarchal conventions and bears witness to a new transfeminist aesthetic.

—Paul B. Preciado

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Phia Ménard

Phia Ménard und Anne-James Chaton, Black Monodie (Schwarze Monodie, 2010), Performance, Compagnie Non Nova, Festival d’Avignon, Juli 2010, Foto: Jean-Luc Beaujault

Phia Ménards Bewegungen und Gesten erzählen von Mutationen und Überführungen, von Transitionen zwischen vorgegebenen Geschlechtern und Genres: von hetero zu queer, von männlich zu weiblich, von Volkskunst zu bildender Kunst, von Zirkus und jonglerie zu Tanz, von Pantomime zu Performance. Ihre dislozierte Kunstpraxis lässt sich nicht einfach dem Tanz oder Theater zuordnen, sondern versteht sich als Erkundung und Dekonstruktion des politischen Status performativen Handelns und der Grenzen zwischen biologischem und theatralischem Körper.

1998, mit 27 Jahren, gründete Ménard die Compagnie Non Nova mit dem Ziel, Jonglieren und Pantomime für die Sprache der zeitgenössischen Kunst zu öffnen und so zu transformieren. Die Gruppe erklärte diese vorgeblich geringeren Ausdrucksformen zur Kunst, verteidigte und feierte jedoch auch die Verbundenheit des Zirkus mit der Kultur der Arbeiterklasse und den populären Codes von Vaudeville und Festivals. Ménards Geschlechtsumwandlung 2008 war von einer Neuausrichtung ihres szenischen Vokabulars begleitet, betonte die Vergänglichkeit angesichts der starren und unflexiblen Natur der Bühne. In ihren Performances trifft der Körper der Künstlerin auf natürliche Materialien im Zustand der Transformation.

In P. P. P. (2008) etwa – entstanden zu einer Zeit, als Ménard mit der Einnahme von Hormonen begann – beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin mit Eis und dessen Wandel von einem bedrohlichen festen Körper zur vollkommenen Flüssigkeit, indem sie 120 Eiskugeln zu je zwei Kilogramm jongliert. Ähnlich wie bei der Verabreichung von Hormonen ist auch hier die biochemische, materielle Präzision entscheidend: ein wenig schwerer, und die Eiskugeln könnten die Künstlerin verletzen; ein wenig leichter, und sie würden zu schnell schmelzen. In L’Après-midi d’un foehn und Vortex (beide 2011) benutzt Ménard kreisförmig angeordnete Ventilatoren, schwebende Plastikbeutel und wogende Folien, um ein unsichtbares Element zu erforschen: Luft. Für Belle d’hier (2015) wiederum, ein Stück für fünf Balletttänzer_innen, verbringt sie mehrere Stunden bei Minustemperaturen in einer Art Gefrierschrank, um an den gefrorenen Kostümen zu arbeiten, die für die neunzigminütige Aufführung benötigt werden. Analysierte die Künstlerin nach 2008 das Thema Geschlechtsumwandlung anfangs noch als materiellen, biopolitischen Prozess – der Kampf gegen das Eis als Kampf gegen aufgezwungene sexuelle und politische Identitäten –, so kritisieren ihre aktuellen Arbeiten vermehrt hetero-patriarchale Konventionen und künden gleichzeitig von einer neuen transfeministischen Ästhetik.

— Paul B. Preciado

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Immoral Tales – Part One: The Mother House

von Phia Ménard

2., 4., 7. Juli 2017
20:30–22 Uhr
Henschel-Hallen, Kassel…

 Mehr
Kalender