Abel Rodríguez

Abel Rodríguez, Ciclo anual en las altas terrazas de la selva tropical (Annual cycle in the high terraces of the rainforest, 2007), ink on paper, 50 × 70 cm, courtesy Abel Rodríguez and Tropenbos International Colombia

Abel Rodríguez’s drawings come from a confluence of several stories. The first is Mogaje Guihu’s. Born Nonuya, circa 1944, in the headwaters of the Cahuinarí River in the Colombian Amazon, he was raised by the Muinane. His uncle, a sabedor (man of knowledge) taught him everything about plants. He became known as the namer of plants. The second story is of Carlos Rodríguez, a biologist who heads the Colombian branch of Tropenbos, a Dutch NGO whose mission is to study and protect the tropical jungle. At some point they needed local guides to help students of Amazonian botany to identify local plants. Guihu became one of them. He proved to be consistent and reliable, a true savant.

Later, in the 1990s, Guihu—who by then had adopted the Western name Abel Rodríguez—moved to Bogotá, escaping violence in the jungle, and settled in one of the Colombian capital’s poverty-ridden peripheral neighborhoods. It was there that Carlos Rodríguez stumbled by chance into Abel and invited him to work again with Tropenbos as a specialist in plants, providing him the tools to create botanical drawings. Abel’s precise, botanical illustrations are drawn from memory and knowledges acquired by oral traditions: they are the visions of someone who sees the potential of plants as food, material for dwellings and clothing, and for use in sacred rites. His “botanical plates” include written information like the color and taste of the bark, the season when it blooms, where it grows and at what time of the year, both in his native Muinane language and in Spanish. His Ciclo anual del bosque de la vega (Seasonal changes in the flooded rainforest, 2009–10), for example, is a calendar tracking the changing appearance and life of the inundated forest. And his Árbol de la vida y de la abundancia (Tree of life and abundance, 2012) tells the story of the creation of the jungle, the origin of the world.

There’s a fourth story: Abel’s foray into an entirely new territory. Following the inclusion of his drawings in the exhibition Historia natural y política at the Museo Botero in Bogotá in 2008, his work has been part of numerous exhibitions in the Americas and in Europe. Abel, however, does not consider himself to be making contemporary art as defined by the West: “We don’t really have that concept, but the closest one I can think of is iimitya, which in Muinane means ‘word of power’—all paths lead to the same knowledge, which is the beginning of all paths.”

—José Roca

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Abel Rodríguez

Abel Rodríguez, Ciclo anual en las altas terrazas de la selva tropical (Jahreszyklus in den Hochterrassen des Regenwaldes, 2007), Tusche auf Papier, 50 × 70 cm, courtesy Abel Rodríguez und Tropenbos International Colombia

Die Zeichnungen von Abel Rodríguez entstehen aus einer Zusammenführung mehrerer Geschichten. Die erste handelt von Mogaje Guihu, geboren als Nonuya ungefähr im Jahr 1944 am Oberlauf des Cahuinarí im kolumbianischen Teil des Amazonasbeckens. Guihu wuchs bei den Muinane auf. Sein Onkel war ein sabedor (Mann des Wissens) und lehrte ihn alles über die Pflanzen. Guihu wurde bekannt als derjenige, der den Pflanzen ihre Namen gab. Die zweite Geschichte ist die von Carlos Rodríguez, einem Biologen. Er leitet den kolumbianischen Ableger der niederländischen NGO Tropenbos, die sich für die Untersuchung und den Schutz des tropischen Regenwalds einsetzt. Irgendwann waren die Erforscher_innen der amazonischen Botanik auf ortskundige Führer_innen angewiesen, um die gefundenen Pflanzen zu bestimmen. Guihu wurde einer von ihnen. Er erwies sich als sicher in seinem Urteil und zuverlässig, mithin als wahrer Gelehrter.

Einige Zeit danach, in den 1990er Jahren, floh Guihu – inzwischen unter dem westlichen Namen Abel Rodríguez – vor der Gewalt im Dschungel nach Bogotá und ließ sich in einem verarmten Randbezirk der kolumbianischen Hauptstadt nieder. Hier lief Carlos Rodríguez ihm zufällig über den Weg, und er lud ihn ein, erneut als Pflanzenexperte für Tropenbos zu arbeiten. Er gab ihm die Mittel zur Anfertigung botanischer Zeichnungen an die Hand. Abels genaue botanische Illustrationen entstanden aus dem Gedächtnis und auf Basis des mündlich tradierten Wissens. Sie sind die Visionen eines Menschen, der den Nutzwert der Pflanzen als Nahrung, Bau- und Bekleidungsmaterial, aber auch als Bestandteile heiliger Riten vor Augen hat. Seine „botanischen Tafeln“ sind mit schriftlichen Angaben zu Farbe und Geschmack der Rinde, Blühzeit, Ort und Jahreszeit des Vorkommens in seiner Muttersprache Muinane und auf Spanisch versehen. Sein Werk Ciclo anual del bosque de la vega über den „jahreszeitlichen Wandel im Schwemmwald“ (2009/10) ist ein Kalender, der das wandelbare Aussehen und Leben der überfluteten Wälder im Jahresverlauf beschreibt. In Árbol de la vida y de la abundancia (Baum des Lebens und der Fülle, 2012) erzählt er von der Schöpfung des Dschungels als dem Ursprung der Welt.

Das war die dritte Geschichte, doch es gibt noch eine vierte. Sie handelt von Abels Erkundung eines ganz neuen Gebiets. Nachdem seine Zeichnungen 2008 in die Schau Historia Natural y Política am Museo Botero in Bogotá aufgenommen wurden, waren sie in zahlreichen weiteren Ausstellungen in Nord- und Südamerika und Europa zu sehen. Abel betrachtet sich aber nicht als zeitgenössischer Künstler im westlichen Sinn. „Bei uns gibt es diese Vorstellung so nicht. Am nächsten kommt ihr noch etwas, das auf Muinane iimitya (Wort der Macht) heißt und meint, dass alle Wege zum selben Wissen, dem Ursprung aller Wege, führen.“

— José Roca

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook