Rebecca Belmore

Rebecca Belmore, Ayum-ee-aawach Oomama-mowan: Speaking to Their Mother (1991), performance with sculpture, Johnson Lake, Banff National Park, Canada, 2008, courtesy Rebecca Belmore and Walter Phillips Gallery, Banff Centre, Canada, photo: Michael Beynon

Rebecca Belmore’s work is concerned with voice, particularly of those that are silenced. It also amplifies those that need a broader audience, those who are displaced and who continually have to remake their home wherever they can.

March 10, 1990, marked the beginning of the so-called Oka Crisis. The crisis ruptured the thin veneer of moderate Canadian society and exposed the festering wound of colonialism beneath. A standoff was sparked by the decision by the mayor of the French-Canadian village of Oka to expand a golf course from nine to eighteen holes. For the Kanien’kehá:ka (Mohawk) community of nearby Kanehsatà:ke, whose land rights had been continually degraded since the 1700s, it was the last straw. The women formed a line to protect the stand of trees that grew over burial grounds of years past. This line escalated into a bitter seventy-eight-day protest. During their defense of what little remained of their territories, the voices of Indigenous peoples were drowned out or blatantly manipulated by mainstream media.

Belmore saw this as an opportunity to speak back. One year later, in 1991, in time for Canada’s embarking on a number of activities to “celebrate” 500 years since the arrival of Columbus, she oversaw building a massive megaphone out of finely inlaid wood veneer with decorative finishes of moose hide and skillfully cut leather lashing. The megaphone then toured for more than a year to communities across Canada, visiting those who needed it most. Its large size echoed the degree of tone deafness toward the dire issues facing Indigenous communities to become a transitory monument. It became a means to amplify the voices of the dispossessed and enlarge the platform for growing agency among Indigenous peoples.

In Athens, Belmore, born in Upsala, Ontario, in 1960, has made another monument to the transitory, also out of local materials. A tent—increasingly a long-term home for refugees and migrants—has been hand carved in marble. It is testament to what, for many, is a state of perpetual emergency, a makeshift retreat. The form has its root in other vernacular shelters as well. “The shape of the tent is, for me, reminiscent of the wigwam dwellings that are part of my history as an Indigenous person,” Belmore explains. Wigwams (wiigiwaam in Anishinaabemowin), traditionally constructed of bentwood of young trees and covered with birch bark, are a rather ingenious solution for building with the materials available at hand. They also enabled a people who were in constant motion to make their home wherever necessary.

—Candice Hopkins

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Rebecca Belmore

Rebecca Belmore, Ayum-ee-aawach Oomama-mowan: Speaking to Their Mother (1991), Performance und Skulptur, Johnson Lake, Banff National Park, Kanada, 2008, courtesy Rebecca Belmore und Walter Phillips Gallery, Banff Centre, Kanada, Foto: Michael Beynon

Stimmen stehen im Mittelpunkt von Rebecca Belmores Arbeit, insbesondere solche, die zum Schweigen gebracht wurden. Aber sie verschafft auch jenen Gehör, die vertrieben wurden und die sich, wo immer sie können, stets aufs Neue ein Zuhause aufbauen müssen.

Am 10. März 1990 begann die sogenannte Oka-Krise. Sie zerriss die brüchige Fassade der moderaten kanadischen Gesellschaft und entblößte die dahinter liegende eitrige Wunde des Kolonialismus. Die Entscheidung des Bürgermeisters von Oka, einer frankokanadischen Gemeinde, einen Golfplatz von neun auf achtzehn Löcher zu vergrößern, endete in einer Pattsituation. Für die Gemeinde der Kanien’kehá:ka (Mohawk) in der nahe gelegenen Siedlung Kanehsatà:ke, deren Landrechte seit Beginn des 18. Jahrhunderts kontinuierlich beschnitten worden waren, brachte dieser Schritt das Fass zum Überlaufen. Ihre Frauen bildeten eine Kette, um die Bäume zu schützen, die über den Begräbnisstätten längst vergangener Zeiten wuchsen. Daraus entwickelte sich ein erbitterter Protest, der 78 Tage anhalten sollte. Die Stimmen der indigenen Völker, die die Reste ihrer Territorien verteidigten, wurden dabei von den Mainstream-Medien unterdrückt oder rundweg manipuliert.

Für Belmore war dies eine Gelegenheit, Widerspruch zu erheben. Als sich Kanada 1992, zwei Jahre nach den Protesten, daranmachte, das 500-Jahr-Jubiläum der Ankunft von Kolumbus mit einer Reihe von Aktivitäten zu „feiern“, leitete sie den Bau eines riesigen Megafons, bestehend aus exquisiten Holzfurnierintarsien mit dekorativen Motiven, Elchhäuten und kunstvoll geschnittener Lederverzurrung. Das Megafon reiste danach zu verschiedenen Gemeinden in ganz Kanada, zu jenen Menschen, die seiner am meisten bedurften. Seine Größe spiegelte das Ausmaß an Taubheit für die katastrophalen Probleme der indigenen Völker, und es verwandelte sich in ein flüchtiges Denkmal, das half, den Stimmen der Entrechteten Gehör und dem wachsenden Eintreten indigener Völker für ihre Rechte eine größere Plattform zu verschaffen.

In Athen hat Belmore, die 1960 in Upsala, Ontario, geboren wurde, nun erneut ein Denkmal auf Zeit geschaffen, auch diesmal unter Verwendung lokaler Materialien. Ihr handgemeißeltes Marmorzelt – ein auf immer längere Dauer angelegtes Zuhause für Flüchtlinge und Migrant_innen – steht für einen Zustand, der für viele einen permanenten Notfall, ein behelfsmäßiges Obdach darstellt. Seine Form verweist auch auf andere traditionelle Unterkünfte. Rebecca Belmore: „Die Form des Zelts erinnert mich an die Wigwam-Unterkünfte, die Teil meiner indigenen Geschichte sind.“ Wigwams (wiigiwaam in Anishinaabemowin), in althergebrachter Weise aus dem gebogenen Holz junger Bäume errichtet und mit Birkenrinde bedeckt, sind eine geschickte Möglichkeit, mit vorgefundenen Materialien zu bauen. Sie erlaubten es einem unablässig umherziehenden Volk, sein Zuhause zu errichten, wo immer es erforderlich war.

— Candice Hopkins

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook