Nomin Bold

Nomin Bold, Labyrinth game (2013), gouache and gold leaf on cotton, 160 × 102 cm, courtesy Nomin Bold and Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane

Nomin Bold belongs to the new generation of Mongol Zurag (literally, Mongol Picture) artists, who were trained after the socialist restrictions on tradition were lifted in Mongolia, just as the country was transitioned in 1990 into democratic governance and a market economy. Nomin, born in 1982, graduated from the class of “Mongol Zurag” in the newly opened division of “National Art” at the only public, state-run College of Fine Art in Ulaanbaatar. She and her classmates, together with their teachers, began the process of shaping and conceptualizing what Mongolian tradition means in a globalized world, in which Mongolia is striving to claim its own distinct place.

The concept of Mongol Zurag was developed by Mongolian art historian Nyam-Osoryn Tsultem (1923–2001) during the heyday of the country’s twentieth-century socialist regime. The Mongol Zurag was an “invention of tradition,” as British historian Eric Hobsbawm would have termed it; a strategy to preserve the cultural identity of Mongolians vis-à-vis the Socialist Realism that was imported into the nation and reinforced by its Soviet instructors. During the socialist period in Mongolia (1921–1990), the USSR and Eastern Europe were the windows onto the world, and the only channels through which European art media, such as oil painting on canvas, was introduced, quickly replacing Buddhist art traditions.

Nomin’s works are distinct for their subtle yet vibrant colors, meticulous drawing, and somewhat mysterious subject matter. Her frequent use of lone female figures as the single compositional element suggest, on the one hand, her interest in situating women as the key players in any environment; while, on the other hand, the national costumes (long discarded in Mongolia) or modern clothing worn by the figures offer a glimpse into the question of the relationship between modernity and tradition that the artist is struggling to understand and raising for individual interpretations.

Buddhist imagery in Nomin’s art serves as motifs and symbols of past traditions, now placed amid the contemporary realm of superfluous commodification. While the artist takes into account the intrinsic Buddhist meaning that she selectively brings into her works, it is rather her inquiry into the nature of the tradition itself and how it can be juxtaposed, superimposed, or envisioned in the modern world that motivates and inspires her unusual compositions. Such queries and inspirations imbue the art of Nomin with a mystery that demands inquisitive and unfaltering attention.

—Uranchimeg Tsultemin

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Nomin Bold

Nomin Bold belongs to the new generation of Mongol Zurag (literally, Mongol Picture) artists, who were trained after the socialist restrictions on tradition were lifted in Mongolia, just as the country…

 More
Artists

Nomin Bold

Nomin Bold, Labyrinth game (2013), Gouache, Blattgold auf Baumwolle, 160 × 102 cm, courtesy Nomin Bold und Queensland Art Gallery und Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane

Nomin Bold gehört zu einer neuen Generation von Künstler_innen, die sich dem Mongol Zurag (wörtlich „mongolisches Bild“) widmet und ihre Ausbildung nach 1990 erhielt, als sich die Mongolei für Demokratie und Marktwirtschaft öffnete und die Einschränkungen der Traditionen des Landes durch das sozialistische System beendet waren. Nomin, geboren 1982, absolvierte die Mongol-Zurag-Klasse am neu eröffneten Fachbereich für „Nationale Kunst“ der einzigen öffentlichen, staatlich geführten Hochschule für bildende Kunst in Ulan-Bator. Sie und ihre Kommiliton_innen begannen gemeinsam mit ihren Lehrer_innen, die Rolle der mongolischen Tradition neu zu denken und zu gestalten für eine globalisierte Welt, in der die Mongolei ihren individuellen Platz sucht.

Das Konzept des Mongol Zurag wurde in der Blütezeit des sozialistischen Regimes im 20. Jahrhundert vom mongolischen Kunsthistoriker Nyam-Osoryn Tsultem (1923–2001) entwickelt. Es könnte – im Sinne des britischen Historikers Eric Hobsbawm – als eine „Erfindung der Tradition“ bezeichnet werden, als eine Strategie zur Bewahrung der kulturellen Identität der Mongol_innen angesichts des Sozialistischen Realismus, der, unterstützt von sowjetischen Hochschullehrer_innen, ins Land strömte. Während der sozialistischen Periode (1921–1990) fungierten die UdSSR und Osteuropa als Fenster der Mongolei zur Welt und als einzige Kanäle, durch die europäische Formen der Kunst – etwa Ölmalerei auf Leinwand – das Land erreichten, wo sie die buddhistischen Kunsttraditionen in kurzer Zeit ablösten.

Nomins Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch zarte und zugleich kraftvolle Farben aus, durch minutiöse Zeichnungen und geheimnisvolle Motive. Die Wahl einsamer Frauengestalten als einziges kompositorisches Element in vielen ihrer Werke spricht einerseits für ihr Interesse daran, Frauen als Hauptakteurinnen in unterschiedlichen Umgebungen zu platzieren. Gleichzeitig eröffnen die (in der Mongolei lange verpönten) nationalen Trachten und modernen Kleider ihrer Figuren einen Einblick in das Verhältnis zwischen Moderne und Tradition, das die Künstlerin zu verstehen sucht und individuellen Interpretationen zugänglich macht.

Die buddhistische Symbolik in Nomins Kunst sind Motive und Zeichen vergangener Traditionen, die in die zeitgenössische Welt übermäßiger Kommodifizierung versetzt werden. Zwar weiß die Künstlerin um die inhärenten buddhistischen Bedeutungen, die sie selektiv in ihre Arbeiten einfließen lässt. Doch es ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Wesen der Tradition an sich und ihren potenziellen Gegenüberstellungen, Überlagerungen und Ausprägungen in der modernen Welt, die ihre außergewöhnlichen Kompositionen begründet und inspiriert. Diese Fragestellungen und Einflüsse verleihen den Werken von Nomin Bold eine Aura des Mysteriösen, die unsere Wissbegierde und beharrliche Aufmerksamkeit einfordert.

— Uranchimeg Tsultemin

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook