Rick Lowe

Rick Lowe, Project Row Houses (1993– ), social sculpture, Houston, 2015, courtesy Project Row Houses

Rick Lowe, Victoria Square Project, 2017–18, social sculpture, Elpidos 13, Victoria Square, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Freddie F.

Rick Lowe first came to Athens from Houston in late June 2015 via a philanthropic conference in Vouliagmeni, a seaside town twenty kilometers from the city center. Determined to get to know the Greek capital and its environs in his own time, he did what he does best: he walked. It took him nearly four hours to reach Syntagma Square by foot. Months later, I am still learning about the pedestrian in his art.

Lowe, who was born in Alabama in 1961, is best known for co-founding Project Row Houses, an ongoing transformation of a segment of the Third Ward in Houston, underway now for more than twenty years. His mentor, the artist, scavenger, and local sage Jesse Lott, comes to play dominoes at the regular Saturday morning gathering in the corner house adjacent to a row of long and narrow “shotgun houses” refurbished for showing art and for living. Witnessing one session, I wondered about the links extending from Houston to Athens, and to Kassel. Each city has different social needs and yields distinct opportunities when grasped at the street level.

In Athens, working closely with Klea Charitou and Elli Christaki, Lowe has opened a dialogue with key initiatives operating across the fields of arts and culture, business, and higher learning, as well as support networks for immigrant and refugee groups. He asks them to direct their attention to Victoria Square. This historic crucible of the Greek middle class has slowly transformed, since the departure of its well-to-do inhabitants to the suburbs in the 1970s, into a contemporary cultural crossroads. In the summer of 2015, it made news, overwhelmed by refugees and their traffickers. Today, the tents have departed, but walking in the square, one hears Greek, Arabic, Albanian, French, Farsi, Polish, Turkish, Swahili.

People seeking refuge and better lives in Kassel today may have passed recently through Victoria Square in Athens. Many others previously arrived in the decades of German recruitment of Gastarbeiter (guest workers) that began in the mid-1950s, around the time of the first documenta. Looking for the inscription of immigrant lives into the fabric of the city with the help of local activist Ayşe Güleç, Lowe found Halitplatz, where a plaque commemorates the murder of a young Turkish man, Halit Yozgat, by members of the neo-Nazi National Socialist Underground. This was not an isolated incident: much work remains to be done.

—Monika Szewczyk

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Rick Lowe

Rick Lowe, Project Row Houses (1993–), soziale Plastik, Houston, 2015, courtesy Project Row Houses

Rick Lowe kam Ende Juni 2015 zum ersten Mal aus Houston nach Athen. Er hatte an einer philanthropischen Tagung im zwanzig Kilometer vom Stadtzentrum entfernten Küstenort Vouliagmeni teilgenommen. Entschlossen, die griechische Hauptstadt und ihr Umland in seinem eigenen Tempo zu erkunden, tat er, was er am besten kann: Er ging zu Fuß. Fast vier Stunden brauchte er für die Reise zum Syntagma-Platz. Monate später entdecke ich immer noch neue Facetten des Wanderers in seiner Kunst.

Lowe, 1961 in Alabama geboren, wurde vor allem als Mitbegründer des Project Row Houses bekannt. Das ist ein mittlerweile seit zwanzig Jahren betriebener, langfristig angelegter Umbau von Teilen des Third Ward in Houston. Sein Mentor, der Künstler, Lumpensammler und Lokalweise Jesse Lott kommt immer noch jeden Samstagmorgen zum Dominospielen in das Eckhaus neben einer Reihe langer und schmaler, in Wohnungen und Kunsträume umgewandelter und renovierter „shotgun houses“. Als ich bei einem dieser Treffen dabei war, begann ich mir die Frage nach Verbindungen und Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen Houston, Athen und Kassel zu stellen. Jede der Städte hat unterschiedliche soziale Notlagen und birgt von der Straßenebene aus gesehen verschiedenes Handlungspotenzial.

In Athen brachte Lowe in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Klea Charitou und Elli Christaki das Gespräch mit wichtigen Initiativen auf allen Gebieten der Kunst und Kultur, der Wirtschaft und höheren Bildung, aber auch mit Unterstüt-zungsnetzwerken für Immigrant_innen und Geflüchtete in Gang. Er lenkte hier die Aufmerksamkeit auf den Viktoria-Platz. Dieser historische Schmelztiegel der griechischen Mittelschicht hat sich seit der Abwanderung seiner besser verdienenden Bewohner_innen in die Vorstädte ab den 1970er Jahren allmählich in eine zeitgenössische Kreuzung der Kulturen verwandelt. Im Sommer 2015 kam er in die Schlagzeilen, weil er von Geflüchteten und ihren Schleusern überrannt wurde. Inzwischen sind auch die Zelte wieder abgewandert, aber beim Spazieren auf dem Platz hört man immer noch Griechisch, Arabisch, Albanisch, Französisch, Farsi, Polnisch, Türkisch und Suaheli.

Einige der Menschen, die heute in Kassel auf der Suche nach Zuflucht und einem besseren Leben sind, liefen vielleicht vor Kurzem noch über den Viktoria-Platz. Viele andere kamen ab Mitte der 1950er Jahre, etwa zur Zeit der ersten documenta, und in den folgenden Jahrzehnten der deutschen Anwerbung von Gastarbeitern hierher. Auf der Suche nach in der Bausubstanz der Stadt festgeschriebenen Spuren der Einwanderer_innen fand Lowe mithilfe der örtlichen Aktivistin Ayşe Güleç den Halitplatz, auf dem eine Tafel an die Ermordung des jungen Türken Halit Yozgat durch Neonazis, Mitglieder des Nationalsozialistischen Untergrunds (NSU), erinnert. Und diese Tat war kein Einzelfall. Es bleibt auch hier noch viel Arbeit zu tun.

— Monika Szewczyk

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook