Khvay Samnang

Elephant, Chi Pat, Koh Kong province, Cambodia, research photograph, August 10, 2016, 8:55 am, courtesy Khvay Samnang and SA SA BASSAC, Phnom Penh

The practice of cartography is inextricably connected with militarist and colonial histories. These histories dictate that to map land is to own it, that to draw the lines that signify borders, frontiers, and state lines is to align the future terms of power. Political ecologist Nancy Lee Peluso put forward the alternative of “counter-mapping,” providing a method of critical cartography that has aided Indigenous forest users, predominantly in Southeast Asia, to strengthen their claim on their land and its resources by defying hegemonic instruments of mapmaking.

The politics of land and resources in relation to indigeneity and the developments threatening such communities is a central concern in Khvay Samnang’s project for documenta 14. The artist, who was born in the Cambodian province of Svay Rieng in 1982 and now works from Phnom Penh, is invested in the Indigenous Chong people, who live in the southwestern province of Koh Kong, primarily in the Areng Valley. Areng is part of the last great forest in Cambodia and the largest remaining expanse of rainforest in Southeast Asia, a site of ample natural resources and much rare wildlife. The valley itself is marked by geopolitical inequality, the threat of environmental devastation due to the development of a large hydroelectric dam (Cheay Areng Dam), and the resulting transformation if not outright expunction of Indigenous ways of life.

Khvay built a lasting relationship with the Chong people by embedding himself in their communities for a nonconsecutive period of one year. In research traversing observation and participation, Khvay grew to understand the manner in which the Chong people map their land as a fundamentally embodied method founded on ancestral and oral histories, meaning that the spiritual territory of the Areng Valley forest is determined through the incorporation of such histories and enacted through the body. Maps in the Western and colonial traditions are irrelevant indexes of power and ownership, since, to the Chong, knowledge is conveyed through speech and the body, which rather point to spiritual ecology and collectivity.

The artist’s research is part of a larger and ongoing collective resistance toward the elements that threaten the land and the Chong people. Through the production of objects—masks, costumes, drawings, among other things—imbued with spiritual beliefs, political concerns, and everyday life, Khvay’s learning from and with the Chong communities has been a key aspect of this process. Khvay and his long-term collaborator, the choreographer and dancer Nget Rady, incorporated the communities’ expressed relationships to particular animals, waters, and lands as a form of countermapping, which is captured in the video and live installation that are part of the presentations at documenta 14. This body-to-body transference permeates Khvay’s entire project: within this method of knowledge accumulation and dissemination lies the inherent connection of the Chong people with their land, as well as their most powerful form of resistance.

—Hendrik Folkerts

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

The Way of the Spirit

with Khvay Samnang, Nget Rady, Erin Gleeson, and Hendrik Folkerts

A discussion on the human body as a way to navigate and map land, as a physical and spiritual territory.

 More
Calendar

Khvay Samnang

Elefant, Chi Pat, Provinz Koh Kong, Kambodscha, Recherchefoto, 10. August 2016, 8:55 Uhr, courtesy Khvay Samnang und SA SA BASSAC, Phnom Penh

Das Verfahren der Kartografie ist untrennbar mit der Geschichte von Militarismus und Kolonialismus verknüpft. Diese setzt das Kartografieren von Land unweigerlich mit dessen Besitz gleich, das Einzeichnen von Grenzlinien mit dem Festlegen von Machtverhältnissen. Das alternative Konzept des Counter-Mapping geht auf die politische Ökologin Nancy Lee Peluso zurück und ist eine Methode der kritischen Kartografie, die den Anspruch von indigenen Völkern auf ihr Land und dessen Ressourcen – insbesondere in Südostasien – unterstützt, indem sie sich hegemonialen Instrumenten der Kartenerstellung verweigert.

Der politische Umgang mit Land und Ressourcen im Zusammenhang mit indigenen Völkern und die Entwicklungen, die diese Gemeinschaften bedrohen, stehen im Mittelpunkt von Khvay Samnangs Projekt für die documenta 14. Der Künstler, der 1982 in der kambodschanischen Provinz Svay Rieng geboren wurde und heute in Phnom Penh arbeitet, ist dem Volk der Chong eng verbunden, das in der südwestlichen Provinz Koh Kong, vor allem im Areng-Tal, lebt. Dieses gilt als Kambodschas letztes großes Waldgebiet und größter noch verbliebener Regenwaldbestand in Südostasien, reich an natürlichen Ressourcen und seltenen Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Das Tal selbst ist durch geopolitische Ungleichheiten, drohende Umweltzerstörung durch den Bau eines Staudamms (Cheay-Areng-Damm) und die daraus resultierende Umgestaltung oder gar komplette Auslöschung indigener Lebensformen gekennzeichnet.

Khvay baute eine dauerhafte Beziehung zu den Chong auf, indem er immer wieder in ihren Gemeinschaften lebte, insgesamt für den Zeitraum eines Jahres. Durch teilnehmende Beobachtung lernte er die Art verstehen, wie die Chong ihr Land kartografieren: als ein auf elementarer Verkörperung beruhendes System, das auf Geschichten von Ahnen und mündlichen Erzählungen gründet. Der spirituelle Raum des Areng-Tales wird durch die Personifizierung dieser Geschichten bestimmt und mittels Körper dargestellt. Karten westlicher oder kolonialer Prägung sind ohne Bedeutung, da die Weitergabe von Wissen anhand von Sprache und Körper erfolgt, was auf spirituelle Ökologie und Kollektivität verweist.

Diese Forschungen sind Teil eines kollektiven Widerstands gegen die Bedrohungen, denen die Chong und ihr Land ausgesetzt sind. Ein zentraler Aspekt ist Khvays Lernen von und mit den Chong-Gemeinschaften durch das Herstellen von Objekten, in denen sich spirituelle Vorstellungen, politische Anliegen und das alltägliche Leben widerspiegeln. Der Künstler und sein langjähriger Mitarbeiter, der Choreograf und Tänzer Nget Rady, haben die zum Ausdruck gebrachten Beziehungen der Chong zu bestimmten Tieren, Gewässern und Landstrichen als Form des Counter-Mapping integriert. Gezeigt wird dies in den Video- und Live-Installationen, die ebenfalls Teil der documenta Präsentation sind. Die Übertragung von Körper zu Körper zieht sich durch das gesamte Projekt: In diesem System der Ansammlung und Weitergabe von Wissen liegt die inhärente Verbindung der Chong zu ihrem Land – und auch ihre wirksamste Form des Widerstands.

— Hendrik Folkerts

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

The Way of the Spirit

mit Khvay Samnang, Nget Rady, Erin Gleeson und Hendrik Folkerts

Eine Diskussion über den menschlichen Körper als Möglichkeit, Land als physisches und spirituelles Territorium zu navigieren und zu kartieren.

 Mehr
Kalender