Antonio Vega Macotela

Antonio Vega Macotela, Study of Exhaustion, no. 1: The Equivalence of Silver (2012), coca ashes and silver, approx. 3 × 4 × 6 cm, courtesy Amparo Museum Collection, Puebla, Mexico

I can see in his face that he is totally beat. He walked around in his studio all night long to collect his own sweat, which he wants to store in bottles for his Studies of Exhaustion. From what I can see on my computer screen, his studio at the Rijksakademie is completely empty. [Mexico City–Amsterdam, September 2012]

Exchanges 87, 89 and 91–97 (2008), ink on paper, each one 28 × 26.6 cm
“El Picos” asked the artist to look for the location of his mother-in-law’s house to find out where his children were staying. For each attempt the artist made to find the
place, “El Picos” would walk around his cell recording each step.
[From the series “Time Divisa”]

Broken arm. Apparently, his shoulder is protruding; they can’t fix it. [Mexico City, 2009–11]

I know that he had to go to Bolivia, to the Potosí mines, some time between September and December 2012. A few months later, he sent me some notes from a guide on how to make machinery:

*Mill: machine made of wood to laminate the silver and gold bars or make them thinner in order to make coins. Made from a wheel, lamps, and the necessary mechanisms to transmit the movement made by power—water, wind, vapor, or any other mechanical agent.
Of Blood: the movement made by animal or human power that makes the mill or machine move.
Footnote: Prologue to Molinos de Sangre: Casa Real de Moneda Circular (Potosí, 1998).

I think Vega Macotela was tired because everybody identified him as the artist of the time exchanges done with inmates of the Santa Martha Acatitla prison, which he carried out for his “Time Divisa” project. “They are eating up all my time, and I am exhausted.” [Time and space unspecified]

On Wednesday, September 11, 2013, Doyle, Kerry A., wrote:

Hi Antonio,
What type of bones are you using for the mill? Human? Animal? What kind of animal? Are they an integral part of the work? How easy would it be to ship the silver pieces without the bones and replacing the bones when you arrive in El Paso? I don’t think they’ll get through customs.
Xo kd

“The only thing that we ask is that you stay with us in the mine the full workday. You can pick up our coca boleos and do whatever you want with them.” [Potosí, Bolivia, sometime at the end of 2012]

The silversmiths have been working for months on a scale replica of the Molino de Sangre in Potosí. It has a 25 cm diameter. It doesn’t work, it doesn’t move. [Puebla, Mexico, March–December 2012]

Vega Macotela, born in Mexico City in 1980, arrives late to the grant meeting. He’s wearing a mask over his mouth because he’s worried about catching H1N1. [Mexico City, March 2009]

From: José Antonio Vega Macotela
Date: Wednesday, September 19, 2013, 2:51 PM

Hi all, The bones are from cows, and the four horses of the Molino de Sangre/The Mill of Blood carrousel are made from these bones. The horses are extremely important. I’m looking into ways of detaching them and bringing them separately and then to assemble them quickly in the Rubin Center. I have to find some time to do it.

Without any particular reason we stop writing to each other for a while. Two years later, he writes to tell me about documenta. They’re going to reproduce The Mill of Blood in a 1:1 version. “The coins are pocket monuments,” he adds. [Mexico City, September 2016]

—Ruth Estévez

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Antonio Vega Macotela

I can see in his face that he is totally beat. He walked around in his studio all night long to collect his own sweat, which he wants to store in bottles for his Studies of Exhaustion. From what I can…

 More
Artists

Antonio Vega Macotela

Antonio Vega Macotela, Study of Exhaustion, no. 1: The Equivalence of Silver (2012), Koka--Asche und Silber, ca. 3 × 4 × 6 cm, courtesy Amparo Museum Collection, Puebla, Mexico

Ich sehe an seinem Gesicht, dass er fix und fertig ist. Er ist die ganze Nacht in seinem Atelier auf und ab gegangen und hat seinen eigenen Schweiß gesammelt, den er in Fläschchen für sein Projekt Studies of Exhaustion aufbewahren möchte. Sein Atelier an der Rijksakademie ist, soweit ich es am Computerbildschirm erkennen kann, vollkommen leer. [Mexiko-Stadt–Amsterdam, September 2012]

Exchanges 87, 89 und 91–97 (2008), Tusche auf Papier, je 28 × 26,6 cm
„El picos“ beauftragte den Künstler, das Haus seiner Schwiegermutter zu suchen und so den Aufenthaltsort seiner Kinder zu finden. Für jeden Versuch des Künstlers, den Ort aufzuspüren, ging „El picos“ in seiner Zelle umher und zählte dabei seine Schritte.

[Aus der Serie „Time Divisa“]

Gebrochener Arm. Seine Schulter scheint vorzustehen, aber sie können nichts dagegen tun. [Mexiko-Stadt, 2009–2011]

Ich wusste, er musste irgendwann zwischen September und Dezember 2012 nach Bolivien, zu den Minen von Potosí. Einige Monate später sandte er mir ein paar Notizen aus einer Anleitung zum Bau von Maschinen, die er in einer lokalen Bibliothek gefunden hatte:

*Mühle: aus Holz gefertigte Maschine zum Laminieren der Silber- und Goldbarren oder um diese für die Produktion von Münzen dünner zu machen; bestehend aus einem Rad, Lampen und den erforderlichen Mechanismen, um die durch Kraft – Wasser, Wind, Dampf oder sonstige mechanische Mittel – hervorgerufene Bewegung zu übertragen des Blutes: die durch tierische oder menschliche Kraft erzeugte Bewegung, die die Mühle oder Maschine in Bewegung setzt Fußnote: Prolog zu Molinos de Sangre: Casa Real de Moneda Circular (Potosí, 1998).

Ich denke, Vega Macotela war so müde, weil er von allen als der Künstler erkannt wurde, der für sein Projekt „Time Divisa“ mit den Insassen des Gefängnisses Santa Martha Acatitla seine Zeit getauscht hatte. „Sie verschlingen meine gesamte Zeit und ich bin erschöpft.“ [Zeit und Ort unbekannt]

Am Mittwoch, 11. September 2013, schrieb Kerry A. Doyle:

Hi Antonio,
welche Art von Knochen verwendest du für die Mühle? Menschliche? Tierische? Von welchen Tieren? Sind sie ein integraler Bestandteil der Arbeit? Wie kompliziert wäre es, die Silberteile ohne die Knochen zu versenden und die Knochen bei deiner Ankunft in El Paso zu ersetzen? Ich glaube nicht, dass sie durch den Zoll kommen.
GLG kd

„Wir bitten Sie nur um eine einzige Sache: dass Sie den ganzen Arbeitstag mit uns in der Mine verbringen. Sie können unsere Koka-Boleos nehmen und damit tun, was immer Sie möchten.“ [Potosí, Bolivien, irgendwann Ende 2012]

Die Silberschmiede arbeiten seit Monaten an einer maßstabgetreuen Replik der Molino de Sangre in Potosí. Sie hat einen Durchmesser von 25 Zentimetern. Sie funktioniert nicht, sie bewegt sich nicht. [Puebla, Mexiko, März–Dezember 2012]

Vega Macotela, geboren 1979 in Mexiko-Stadt, kommt zu spät zum Stipendientreffen. Er trägt einen Mundschutz, da er befürchtet, sich mit H1N1 anzustecken. [Mexiko-Stadt, März 2009]

Von: José Antonio Vega Macotela
Datum: Mittwoch, 19. September 2013, 14.51 Uhr

Hallo an alle! Es handelt sich um Kuhknochen und die vier Pferde des Karussells von Molino de Sangre/The Mill of Blood sind daraus gefertigt. Die Pferde sind extrem wichtig. Ich suche nach Möglichkeiten, die Knochen herauszulösen und gesondert mitzubringen, um sie dann im Rubin Center rasch wieder zusammenzufügen. Ich muss die Zeit dafür finden.

Ohne besonderen Grund reißt der Schriftwechsel zwischen uns für eine Weile ab. Zwei Jahre später schreibt er mir, um von der documenta zu erzählen. The Mill of Blood wird dort in Übergröße nachgebaut. „Die Münzen sind Monumente im Taschenformat“, fügt er hinzu. [Mexiko-Stadt, September 2016]

— Ruth Estévez

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook