Máret Ánne Sara

Máret Ánne Sara, Pile o’ SápmiShouts from the Shit Flood (2016), 150 reindeer skulls, plastic, and tape, 220 × 150 × 150 cm

On February 1, 2016, the town of Tana in Sápmi/Northern Norway awoke to the sight of 200 reindeer heads piled into a pyramid in front of the Indre Finnmark District Court. This was the day that young reindeer herder Jovsset Ánte Sara initiated public proceedings against the Norwegian state to challenge the obligatory cull dictated by the Norwegian Reindeer Herding Act of 2007, claiming that standardized herd reduction was tantamount to enforced bankruptcy.

As the Sámi community struggles to preserve its identity—its language, livelihood, and culture—after centuries of “Norwegianization,” the forced culls affect the youngest, and smallest, herders the most. These herders are a fragile link to traditions that the Sámi community has a legal right to preserve. Pile o’ Sápmi was conceived by Marét Ánne Sara as an artwork and “as an extended art movement accompanying the trial of my brother … to highlight the struggle taking place.” Born in 1983, to a family of reindeer herders in Kvaløya, Sara is the founder of the Kautokeino artist collective. She is part of a new generation of Sámi artists working to uphold the rights of their community.

Pile o’ Sápmi draws upon spiritual, ecological, and political concerns. It references “Pile of Bones,” the Indigenous name for the place where the Cree nation stacked buffalo bones to anchor the animals’ spirits to the land, thereby ensuring their continued presence in what is today known as Western Canada. The artist also refers to the brutal colonial history of North America, where trophy mountains of bones testified to the buffalo massacre that served to dispossess Indigenous peoples of the land and pen them into reserves. These bones were also used to produce fine bone china, an interest reflected in Sara’s latest work.

Sámi leitmotifs of adaptability and recyclability are also evident in the way that Pile o’ Sápmi allows natural processes to unfold varying narratives. If the freshly slaughtered reindeer heads provide the nose and eye with uncomfortable reminders of decay, the bullet holes at the center of their skulls reveal the colonial killing system’s disrespect for Indigenous processes that would have preserved and utilized every part of the dead animals.

Máret Ánne Sara’s brother won the trial; the verdict stated that the cull violates his property rights as protected by the European Convention on Human Rights. The Norwegian government has appealed the case.

—Katya García-Antón

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook

Máret Ánne Sara

Máret Ánne Sara, Pile o’ Sápmi—Shouts from the shit flood (2016), 150 Rentierköpfe, Klebeband, Plastiktorso, 220 × 150 × 150 cm

Als die Bewohner_innen der Stadt Tana in Sápmi (Nordnorwegen) am 1. Februar 2016 erwachten, fanden sie vor dem Bezirksgericht der Finnmark eine Pyramide aus 200 Rentierköpfen vor. An diesem Tag reichte Jovsset Ánte Sara Klage gegen den norwegischen Staat ein, um gegen die vom norwegischen Rentierhaltungsgesetz 2007 zwingend vorgeschriebene Tötung von Renen anzukämpfen. Die Begründung des jungen Rentierzüchters: Die standardisierte Reduktion der Herden käme einem Zwangskonkurs gleich.

Die Gemeinschaft der Sámi kämpft – nach Jahrhunderten der „Norwegisierung“ – um die Bewahrung ihrer Identität, die ihren Ausdruck in Sprache, Lebensgrundlage und Kultur findet. Die erzwungene Keulung trifft die jüngsten und kleinsten Rentierhalter_innen am stärksten. Sie stellen ein fragiles Bindeglied zu den Traditionen dar, deren Bewahrung den Sámi laut Gesetz gestattet ist. Pile o’ Sápmi wurde von Máret Ánne Sara als Kunstwerk konzipiert sowie als „erweiterte Kunstbewegung, die den Prozess meines Bruders begleitet – um auf den stattfindenden Kampf aufmerksam zu machen“. Sara, 1983 in Kvaløya in eine Familie von Rentierzüchter_inn en geboren, ist Gründerin des Künstlerkollektivs Kautokeino und gehört einer neuen Generation von Sámi-Künstler_innen an, die für die Rechte ihrer Gemeinschaft eintreten.

Pile o’ Sápmi verhandelt spirituelle, ökologische und politische Fragen. Es nimmt Bezug auf „Pile of Bones“ (Knochenberg), eine indigene Bezeichnung für den Ort, an dem das Volk der Cree Büffelknochen aufstapelte, um den Geist der Tiere an das Land zu binden. Damit sollte ihr Fortbestand im heutigen Westkanada sichergestellt werden. Gleichzeitig verweist die Künstlerin auf die brutale Kolonialgeschichte Nordamerikas, wo Knochenberge wie Trophäen von der blutigen Vernichtung der Büffel zeugten, mit der die indigenen Völker von ihrem Land vertrieben und in Reservate gepfercht wurden. Zudem wurden diese Knochen für die Produktion von feinem Porzellan verwendet – eine Tatsache, mit der sich Sara in ihrer jüngsten Arbeit auseinandersetzt.

Anpassungsfähigkeit und Rezyklierbarkeit als Grundprinzipien samischer Lebensweise zeigen sich auch im Umgang mit natürlichen Prozessen, die in Pile o’ Sápmi unterschiedliche Narrative entfalten. Während frisch geschlachtete Rentierköpfe unsere Nasen und Augen unsanft an Verwesungsprozesse erinnern, erzählen die Einschusslöcher in der Mitte der Schädel vom fehlenden Respekt des kolonialen Tötungsregimes für die Vorgehensweise indigener Gemeinschaften, die alle Teile der toten Tiere erhalten und verwertet hätten.

Máret Ánne Saras Bruder hat den Prozess übrigens gewonnen. Im Urteil wurde festgehalten, dass die Tötung der Tiere eine Verletzung seiner Eigentumsrechte gemäß Europäischer Menschenrechtskonvention darstellt. Die norwegische Regierung hat dagegen Berufung eingelegt.

— Katya García-Antón

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook