Ross Birrell

Ross Birrell, Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra (SEPO), Berliner Philharmonie, 2016. Reference photograph for Ross Birrell and David Harding, Symphony of Sorrowful Songs (2017), Henryk Górecki, Symphony no. 3, op. 36, “Symphony of Sorrowful Songs” (1976), performed by Athens State Orchestra with members of the Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra, Athens, © SEPOsepo—philharmonic.com, photo: Maik Reichert

Ross Birrell, A Beautiful Living Thing, 2015, digital video, Gennadius Library, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Freddie F.

Ross Birrell, Criollo, 2017, various materials, installation view, Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost), Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Things tend to get personal, at times: I owe my acquaintance with Ross Birrell to Gustav Metzger, whose exhibition In Memoriam, dedicated to Walter Benjamin, I organized at Kunsthalle Basel in 2006. As companion to his show, we asked Metzger to choose a film to screen at the adjacent cinema. He answered that at a recent opening of an exhibition by John Latham, he had met up with his friends Scottish artists Ross Birrell and David Harding (also a friend of Latham’s). They were at that time finishing their new film project on Benjamin. Without further ado, I invited Harding and Birrell to show their film in Basel. Port Bou: 18 Fragments for Walter Benjamin (2006) is composed of several intertwined narratives. Among them is Birrell’s hike across the Pyrenees that follows the route Benjamin took in 1940, trying to flee from the Nazis, to the Spanish village of Portbou where Benjamin took his own life on September 26 of that year. While Birrell (born in 1969) is crossing the mountains, we see David Harding (born in 1937) waiting for him in a café on Portbou central square, sipping on a drink and taking notes—a visual echo of “Old Benjamin” as remembered by Lisa Fittko, who was the writer’s guide during his last hopeful passage. When Birrell and Harding finally reunite, both artists take a stroll through the village, before reaching Benjamin’s memorial, Passages, built in 1994 by Israeli sculptor Dani Karavan—a tunnel with a flight of steps, descending steeply from the cliff to hover just above the whirlpool of sea waves.

18 Fragments is typical of Birrell’s working method, which involves weaving together—while leaving some loose ends—several narratives as part of a practice that is both performative and reminiscent of diary writing, subjective and fragmentary. “Fragment is the intrusion of death into the work. While destroying it, it removes the stain of semblance,” Benjamin’s friend Adorno noted in Aesthetic Theory. Birrell’s ongoing project “Envoy” is critical thought performed as gesture. A book—usually of certain historical weight—is thrown into a body of water or a ravine; most recently, it was Thomas More’s Utopia thrown into the Mediterranean Sea, in Piraeus, on March 11, 2016. The book reaching the apex of its short flight and the thrower standing on firm ground are captured in a photograph. Every project (from the Latin: projicere, to cast forth) is a throw, and there is always an abyss gaping ahead.

—Adam Szymczyk

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

What is it to read?

with Ross Birrell

In this meeting the artist Ross Birrell makes a special presentation of his upcoming publication “The Parasite” (2017). Done within the research framework of documenta 14, “The Parasite” is a text…

 More
Calendar

The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes
Arrival of the long-term riders in Kassel

by Ross Birrell

After three months and a distance of 3,000 kilometers, The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes horseback trekkers will reach the end of their route. On July 9, 2017 at 2 pm they will arrive at…

 More
Calendar

The documenta 14 Reader and documenta 14: Daybook

with Ross Birrell, Moyra Davey, Natasha Ginwala, Hiwa K, Quinn Latimer, Isabell Lorey, Adam Szymczyk, and Katerina Tselou

Please join documenta 14 Artistic Director Adam Szymczyk and Editor-in-Chief of Publications Quinn Latimer in celebrating the publications of The documenta 14 Reader and documenta 14: Daybook (both Prestel…

 More
Calendar

The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes

by Ross Birrell

Launch event of The Athens-Kassel Ride, starting at St. Sophia’s Church of Acropolis on Dionysiou Areopagitou

Inspired by Aimé Tschiffely’s trek from Buenos Aires to New York (1925–28), The Athens-Kassel…

 More
Calendar

Henryk Górecki, Symphony No. 3, Op. 36, Symphony of Sorrowful Songs

with Ross Birrell, David Harding, Athens State Orchestra, and Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra (SEPO)

The Symphony of Sorrowful Songs is the Polish composer’s best-known work. It is a poignant lament for orchestra and soprano in three movements, each focusing on the sense of hopelessness, separation…

 More
Calendar

The Transit of Hermes

by Ross Birrell

The Athens-Kassel Ride—a mobile, participatory, human-equine ensemble performed over 100 days—is a 3000 km equestrian long ride across Europe linking the two cities of documenta 14…

 More
Notes

Ross Birrell

Ross Birrell, Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra (SEPO), Berliner Philharmonie, 2016. Referenzbild für Ross Birrell und David Harding, Symphony of Sorrowful Songs (2017), Henryk Górecki, Symphonie Nr. 3, op. 36 (1976), bekannt als Symphony of Sorrowful Songs, aufgeführt vom Athens State Orchestra mit Mitgliedern des Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra, Athen, © SEPOsepo – philharmonic.com, Foto: Maik Reichert

Dinge tendieren – manchmal – dazu, persönlich zu werden. Meine Bekanntschaft mit Ross Birrell verdanke ich Gustav Metzger, dessen Walter Benjamin gewidmete Ausstellung In Memoriam ich 2006 in der Kunsthalle Basel organisierte. Wir baten den Künstler, als Begleitveranstaltung zur Ausstellung einen Film zu wählen, der im angrenzenden Kino präsentiert werden sollte. Metzger erklärte, er habe erst unlängst bei der Eröffnung einer Ausstellung von John Latham seine schottischen Künstlerfreunde Ross Birrell und David Harding (ebenfalls mit Latham befreundet) getroffen. Die beiden stellten zu diesem Zeitpunkt gerade ihr neues Filmprojekt über Benjamin fertig. Ohne weitere Umstände lud ich Harding und Birrell ein, ihr Werk in Basel vorzustellen. Port Bou: 18 Fragments for Walter Benjamin (2006) besteht aus mehreren miteinander verknüpften Erzählungen, darunter Birrells Wanderung über die Pyrenäen. Diese folgt der Route, die Benjamin 1940 auf seiner Flucht vor den Nazis nahm und die ihn ins spanische Dorf Portbou führte, wo er sich am 26. September desselben Jahres das Leben nahm. Während Birrell (geboren 1969) das Gebirge überquert, sehen wir David Harding (geboren 1937), der in einem Café auf dem zentralen Platz von Portbou auf ihn wartet, dabei an einem Getränk nippt und sich Notizen macht – ein visuelles Echo des „alten Benjamin“ nach den Erinnerungen von Lisa Fittko, die dem Schriftsteller auf der letzten hoffnungsvollen Passage seines Lebens Geleit gab. Nach der glücklichen Wiedervereinigung der beiden Künstler spazieren diese durch das Dorf bis zu einem 1994 vom israelischen Bildhauer Dani Karavan errichteten Monument, das Benjamin gewidmet ist: Passagen besteht aus einem Tunnel und einer Treppenflucht, die von der Felswand steil in die Tiefe führt und erst unmittelbar über dem brodelnden Meer innehält.

18 Fragments ist charakteristisch für die performative und tagebuchartige, subjektive und fragmentarische Arbeitsweise von Ross Birrell, in der unterschiedliche Narrative miteinander verwoben werden – mit einigen losen Enden. „Das Fragment ist der Eingriff des Todes ins Werk. Indem er es zerstört, nimmt er den Makel des Scheins von ihm“, schreibt Theodor W. Adorno, ein Freund Benjamins, in seiner Ästhetischen Theorie. In Birrells laufendem Projekt „Envoy“ nimmt kritisches Denken die Form einer Geste an: Ein – in der Regel historisch gewichtiges – Buch wird in ein Gewässer oder in eine Schlucht geworfen, zuletzt etwa Utopia von Thomas Morus, das am 11. März 2016 in Piräus seinen Weg ins Mittelmeer fand. Ein Foto hält dabei das Buch auf dem Scheitelpunkt seines kurzen Flugs ebenso fest wie den Werfer, der auf sicherem Boden steht. Jedes Projekt (vom lateinischen proicere, „vorwärtswerfen“) ist ein Wurf, so wie es auch immer einen Abgrund gibt, der sich vor uns auftut.

— Adam Szymczyk

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

What is it to read?

mit Ross Birrell

In this meeting the artist Ross Birrell makes a special presentation of his upcoming publication “The Parasite” (2017). Done within the research framework of documenta 14, “The Parasite” is a text…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes
Ankunft der Wanderreiter_innen in Kassel

von Ross Birrell

Nach dreimonatiger Reise und einer Wegstrecke von 3000 Kilometern erreichen die Wanderreiter_innen von The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes den Endpunkt ihrer Route. Am 9. Juli um 14 Uhr treffen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Der documenta 14 Reader und documenta 14: Daybook

mit Ross Birrell, Moyra Davey, Natasha Ginwala, Hiwa K, Quinn Latimer, Isabell Lorey, Adam Szymczyk und Katerina Tselou

Feiern Sie mit Adam Szymczyk, dem Künstlerischen Leiter der documenta 14, und der Chefredakteurin der Publikationen, Quinn Latimer, die Publikationen Der documenta 14 Reader und documenta 14: Daybook

 Mehr
Kalender

The Athens–Kassel Ride: The Transit of Hermes

von Ross Birrell

Auftaktveranstaltung von The Athens-Kassel Ride, beginnend an der Kirche der Hl. Sophia, Akropolis, Dionysiou Areopagitou

Inspiriert von Aimé Tschiffelys Wanderung von Buenos Aires nach New York (1925–28)…

 Mehr
Kalender

Henryk Górecki, Symphony No. 3, Op. 36, Symphony of Sorrowful Songs

mit Ross Birrell, David Harding, Athens State Orchestra und Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra (SEPO)

Die Musikperformance ist eine Koproduktion der documenta 14, des Athener Staatsorchesters und der Athener Konzerthalle Megaron. Ein Teil der Erlöse wird der Initiative des Athener Staatsorchesters „Pink…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Transit of Hermes (Die Durchreise des Hermes)

von Ross Birrell

The Athens-Kassel Ride – ein mobiles, partizipatorisches, menschlich-pferdeartiges, 100 Tage andauerndes Ensemble – ist ein 3000 km langer Wanderritt durch Europa, der die zwei Städte der documenta 14 miteinander verbindet…

 Mehr
Notizen