Mary Zygouri

Mary Zygouri, Liquidations (2010), performance, Rome, courtesy Mary Zygouri and prometeogallery di Ida Pisani, Milan/Lucca; photo: Roberta Forlini

Mary Zygouri researches, reenacts, and reconfigures the politics and poetics of the archive. She positions herself in its critical fissures, conflicts, and silences, bringing forth how “minor” histories haunt the archive as they clamor to be heard. In her work for documenta 14, Zygouri (born in Athens in 1973) collects remnants of the archive of Greek performance artist Maria Karavela, much of which was lost in a fire at her studio in 1996.

Zygouri engages with Karavela’s iconic Kokkinia performance on June 27, 1979. This working-class Athens neighborhood was the site of the “Blockade of Kokkinia” in August 1944 when, in reprisals against an uprising led by the communist resistance, German soldiers executed hundreds of people and sent more to concentration camps. Five years after the fall of the military junta, Karavela screened her banned film Antistasi (Resistance) (1977; destroyed by fire in 1996) on Saint Nicholas Square in Kokkinia. The film featured scenes from the wartime resistance, alongside testimonies by communist fighters about the Greek Civil War and their experience in exile. In the layered temporality of the performance, the active participation of the public intersected with the filmed interviews and the modes of artistic work through which political loss is witnessed and performed.

Zygouri responds—and makes us listen—to this matrix of documentation, akin to Michel Foucault’s notion of a “history of the present”: a genealogical inquiry beginning from a question posed in the present. She lets the spectrality of the event redesign the public space, giving way to a critical performativity of political memory. The work takes the form of an exhibition at the Museum of the Kokkinia Blockade, educational workshops at local schools, and a public performance made with the community, through which she maps out what she calls a pedagogy of the “open work.”

Shaped by the untold histories of Karavela’s marginalization and self-enforced exile, Zygouri’s performance moves between layers of testimony: tenacious remnants of a neglected archive, morphing genres of documentation, loss and dissident memory. Through this assemblage of memory, in all its passionate and vulnerable intensities, the question of political subjectivity persists: who is to inhabit public space, be part of the collective body, and lay claim to its archival knowledge, when “collective memory” denotes a shared but differentially allocated affect of belonging?

Zygouri opens these questions to a new reading on the limits of what is im/possible to narrate, witness, and recollect. Her search for Maria Karavela in Kokkinia remembers what is critically irrecoverable.

—Athena Athanasiou

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

School of Gesture - public moments

with Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis, and Mary Zygouri

May 16, 2017, 5 pm: Lou Forster May 17, 2017, 5 pm: Marina Fokidis May 19, 2017, 3 pm: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray May 19, 2017, 5 pm: Alexandra Bachzetsis May 21, 2017, 5 pm: Mary Zygouri What is…

 More
Calendar

The Round-up Project: Kokkinia 1979–Kokkinia 2017 \ M. Z. \ M. K.

by Mary Zygouri

Based on the performance Kokkinia by the late Maria Karavela (1938–2012), which took place at the same site in 1979, artist Mary Zygouri has developed a long-term community project and a performance…

 More
Calendar

#1 documenta 4
documenta 4 1968/Kokkinia 1979/Kokkinia 2017

with Irene Gerogianni and Mary Zygouri

Drawing on the tumultuous date 1968 and documenta 4 from the same year, artist Mary Zygouri and art historian Irene Gerogianni discuss the work of Maria Karavela (1938–2012)—a leading figure in Greek…

 More
Calendar

Mary Zygouri

Mary Zygouri, Liquidations (2010), Performance, Rom, courtesy Mary Zygouri und prometeogallery di Ida Pisani, Milan/Lucca; Foto: Roberta Forlini

Im Zentrum von Mary Zygouris Erkundungen, Inszenierungen und Rekonfigurationen steht die Politik und Poetik des Archivs, in dessen kritischen Einschränkungen, Konflikten und Verschwiegenheiten sich die Künstlerin positioniert. Dabei führt sie uns vor Augen, wie „unbedeutende“ Geschichten auf der Suche nach Aufmerksamkeit die Archive durchgeistern. Für ihren Beitrag zur documenta 14 trägt die 1976 in Athen geborene Künstlerin Reste eines Archivs der griechischen Performancekünstlerin Maria Karavela zusammen, das 1996 durch einen Atelierbrand großteils vernichtet wurde.

Als Ausgangspunkt dient ihr Karavelas ikonische Performance Kokkinia vom 27. Juni 1979. In diesem Athener Arbeiterviertel fand im August 1944 die „Blocco (Razzia) von Kokkinia“ statt, bei der als Vergeltung für einen vom kommunistischen Widerstand geführten Aufstand Hunderte Menschen von deutschen Soldaten getötet und viele weitere in Konzentrationslager verbracht wurden. Fünf Jahre nach dem Sturz der Militärjunta präsentierte Karavela auf dem Platz Agiou Nikolaou ihren verbotenen Film Antistasi (Widerstand, 1977; beim Brand von 1996 vernichtet), der neben Szenen des Widerstands aus der Kriegszeit auch Aussagen kommunistischer Kämpfer zum griechischen Bürgerkrieg und zu ihren Erfahrungen im Exil zeigte. Die unterschiedlichen Zeitschichten der Performance verknüpften eine aktive Teilnahme der Öffentlichkeit mit den gefilmten Interviews und künstlerischen Formen des Bezeugens und Darstellens von politischem Verlust.

Zygouri antwortet auf diese dokumentarische Matrix (und bringt sie uns zu Gehör), angelehnt an Foucaults Begriff der „Geschichte der Gegenwart“: eine genealogische Erkundung, inspiriert von einer Frage der Gegenwart. Die Spukhaftigkeit des Ereignisses gestaltet den öffentlichen Raum um, eine kritische Performativität des politischen Gedächtnisses hält Einzug. Das Projekt umfasst eine Ausstellung im Mouseio tis Mantras tou Blokou Kokkinias (Museum der Razzia von Kokkinia), Informationsworkshops in örtlichen Schulen sowie eine öffentliche Performance mit der Gemeinde, ganz im Sinne einer Aufklärung durch „offene Arbeit“ (Mary Zygouri).

Zygouris Performance – geprägt von nicht erzählten Geschichten über Karavelas Marginalisierung und selbst gewähltes Exil – bewegt sich zwischen unterschiedlichen Ebenen des Zeugnisablegens: beharrliche Relikte eines vergessenen Archivs, im Wandel begriffene Formen der Dokumentation, Verlust, dissidente Erinnerungen. In diesem Zusammentragen von Erinnerungen, in all seiner leidenschaftlichen und verletzlichen Intensität, lebt die Frage politischer Subjektivität fort: Wem gehört der öffentliche Raum, wer soll Teil des Kollektivkörpers sein und dessen archiviertes Wissen für sich beanspruchen können, wenn das „kollektive Gedächtnis“ als gemeinsames, doch unterschiedlich verfügbares Gefühl der Zugehörigkeit zu verstehen ist?

Mary Zygouri öffnet diese Fragen für eine Neuinterpretation der Grenzen dessen, was (nicht) erzählt, bezeugt und erinnert werden kann. Ihre Suche nach Maria Karavelas Spuren in Kokkinia ruft in Erinnerung, was essenziell verloren ist.

— Athena Athanasiou

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

School of Gesture - public moments

mit Lou Forster, Marina Fokidis, Rasheed Araeen, Gene Ray, Alexandra Bachzetsis und Mary Zygouri

16. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Lou Forster 17. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Marina Fokidis 19. Mai 2017, 15 Uhr: Rasheed Araeen & Gene Ray 19. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Alexandra Bachzetsis 21. Mai 2017, 17 Uhr: Mary Zygouri…

 Mehr
Kalender

The Round-up Project: Kokkinia 1979–Kokkinia 2017 \ M. Z. \ M. K.

von Mary Zygouri

Ausgehend von der Performance Kokkinia der verstorbenen Maria Karavela (1938–2012), die im Jahr 1979 am selben Ort stattfand, hat die Künstlerin Mary Zygouri in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Oberschüler_innen…

 Mehr
Kalender

#1 documenta 4
documenta 4 1968/Kokkinia 1979/Kokkinia 2017

mit Irene Gerogianni und Mary Zygouri

Vor dem Hintergrund des turbulenten Jahres 1968 und der 4. documenta im selben Jahr erörtern die Künstlerin Mary Zygouri und die Kunsthistorikerin Irene Gerogianni das Werk von Maria Karavela (1938–2012)…

 Mehr
Kalender