Yael Davids

Yael Davids, The Distance between V and W (2015), glass, wood, pigmented clay, and secondhand pottery, installation views, Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, Paris, photo: Ouidade Soussi-Chiadmi

Yael Davids, A Reading That Loves—A Physical Act, 2017, various materials, installation view, EMST—National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Yael Davids, A Reading That Loves—A Physical Act, 2017, installation and performance, Neue Galerie, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Fred Dott

You handed me a face shield with a steel blue head strap. “Have a glass mask,” you said. We laughed softly, aware of the obvious, not funny, allusion. I asked you if you knew that monosyllabic rhymes like “gas” and “glass” are categorically masculine? A two-syllable “further murder” is contractually feminine. “Ah,” you said, “like ‘brokebone gravestone.’” How did gendering come to matter in the linguistics of assonance anyway? Why trouble a double? Sex a sound?

Tapping at the lightly tinted, fabulously fractured surface that now covered your face, I thought I heard you say something about these defenseless holes of ours. Mouth-holes, ear-holes, nostrils, eye sockets. All require protection from the triggers and echoes of waveforms and particulate matter. What were we really defending with our shields?

Faux facial armor in place, we took long deep breaths, expanding our lungs, thinking somehow that breathing itself was the ironic point of the encounter. You noticed my audible intake and suggested I try reverse breathing, expanding the abdomen on the exhale rather than contracting it. Misting the masks of broken glass with hot breath, we considered this quality respiration. Your work, after all, has always provoked mass with transparency. Allowed the body its entropic vulnerability.

A cool speedy blue refracts from your cheek. An orangish spark reflects from your chin. I notice your wince. You tell me you see a jade green sword, tipped in venomous gold, sparkle from the vertical crease in my forehead. Like Iulia’s smashed skull. The light rips a phantom.

Facial muscles are so nuanced. The merest micro-movement gives an indication of feeling. The tiniest twitch tells tales. For a moment, you say, you see Cornelia’s despair in the shadow of a mouth corner. Feel Else’s breath captured in her toothless dying.

Glass masks. What beauty do we catch now as the light glints and blinds through the fragile clarity of these strange visors? We breathe in and out as the anguished do, and hope, you and I, that the spectral array we see bouncing before us portends something we can care about.

Coda: Yael Davids, born in 1968, considers the intersection of personal and political narratives, the collection, and collective heritage, and examines the body as a site of convergences and conflicts. In her assemblage for documenta 14, she brings together different characters, such as painter Cornelia Gurlitt, poet and playwright Else Lasker-Schüler, Roman empress Iulia Aquilia Severa, and Rahel Varnhagen who was known for her significant salons, with a new sculptural work made by the armor-glass factory in Kibbutz Tzuba where she grew up.

Sher Doruff

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

A Reading That Loves – A Physical Act

by Yael Davids

Yael Davids’ assembly of materials that is activated during this daily performance, departs from her interest in the Expressionist painter Cornelia Gurlitt, among other marginalized female figures.

 More
Calendar

Salon de Tomb: The Salon/Library as a Portrait

by Yael Davids

The presentation opens up and exposes the salon/library as a collection of resonant bodies. Davids asks: “How does one record one’s library? Where does the process of creating a library resonate? How…

 More
Calendar

Yael Davids

Yael Davids, The Distance between V and W (2015), Glas, Holz, pigmentierter Ton, gebrauchte Töpferware, Installationsansichten, Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, Paris, Foto: Ouidade Soussi-Chiadmi

Yael Davids, A Reading That Loves—A Physical Act, 2017, verschiedene Materialien, Installationsansicht, EMST – Nationales Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Athen, documenta 14, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Yael Davids, A Reading That Loves—A Physical Act, 2017, Installation und Performance, Neue Galerie, Kassel, documenta 14, Foto: Fred Dott

Du gabst mir einen Gesichtsschutz mit stahlblauem Kopfgurt: „Hier, nimm eine Glasmaske.“ Wir lachten leise angesichts der offensichtlichen, wenn auch keineswegs amüsanten Anspielung. Ich fragte, ob dir bekannt sei, dass einsilbige Reime wie gas und glass im Englischen als dezidiert männlich gelten, zweisilbige hingegen – wie etwa further murder – unvermeidlich weiblich sind? „Ah“, sagtest du, „wie in brokebone gravestone.“ Wie kam es dazu, dass das Gendering Einzug erhielt in die Linguistik der Assonanzen? Warum sollte man die Laute mit so etwas behelligen? Ihnen ein Geschlecht zuteilen?

Während ich auf die leicht getönte, fantastisch gebrochene Oberfläche tippte, die dein Gesicht nun bedeckte, schienst du etwas über die schutzlosen Öffnungen zu sagen, die wir unser Eigen nennen: Münder, Ohren, Nasenlöcher, Augenhöhlen. Alle benötigen sie Schutz vor den Auslösern und Echos unterschiedlichster Wellenmuster und Teilchen. Was verteidigten wir mit unseren Schutzmasken wirklich?

Unter unserem künstlichen Gesichtspanzer atmeten wir tief ein, weiteten unsere Lungen, dachten gewissermaßen, das Atmen selbst sei der ironische Grund unseres Zusammentreffens. Du hörtest, wie ich die Luft einsog, und schlugst mir vor, umgekehrt zu atmen, meinen Unterleib beim Ausstoßen der Luft zu dehnen, statt ihn zusammenzuziehen. Während der heiße Hauch unsere Masken aus gebrochenem Glas beschlug, sannen wir über diese erlesene Form der Atmung nach. Immerhin provoziert deine Arbeit stets Masse durch Transparenz. Gesteht dem Körper seine entropische Verletzlichkeit zu.

Ein kühles, flinkes Blau bricht sich an deiner Wange. Ein orangefarbener Funke wirbelt von deinem Kinn. Ich merke, wie du zusammenzuckst. Du sagst, ein jadegrünes Schwert funkle an der senkrechten Falte auf meiner Stirn, die Spitze in giftiges Gold getaucht. Wie Iulias zerschmetterter Schädel. Ein Phantom, zerrissen von Licht.

Gesichtsmuskeln zeichnen sich durch feine Nuancierungen aus. Die kleinste Bewegung signalisiert ein Gefühl. Das geringste Zucken erzählt eine Geschichte. Für einen kurzen Augenblick, sagst du, erblickst du Cornelias Verzweiflung im Schatten eines Mundwinkels. Fühlst du Elses Atem, gefangen in ihrem zahnlosen Sterben.

Glasmasken. Welche Schönheit wird uns zuteil, nun, da sich das Licht glitzernd und blendend einen Weg durch die zerbrechliche Klarheit dieser seltsamen Visiere bahnt? Gequält atmen wir ein und aus und hoffen, du und ich, dass das irrlichternde Spiel der Farben vor unseren Augen von etwas kündet, das uns berührt.

Coda: Yael Davids, geboren 1968, setzt sich mit den Verschränkungen persönlicher und politischer Narrative auseinander, mit Phänomenen des Sammelns und des kollektiven Erbes, mit dem Körper als Schauplatz von Konvergenzen und Konflikten. In ihrem Projekt für die documenta 14 vereint sie verschiedene Persönlichkeiten, darunter die Malerin Cornelia Gurlitt, die Dichterin und Dramatikerin Else Lasker-Schüler, die römische Kaiserin Iulia Aquilia Severa sowie die für ihre herausragenden Salons berühmte Rahel Varnhagen, mit einer neuen skulpturalen Arbeit, hergestellt in einer Panzerglasfabrik des Kibbuz Tzuba, wo die Künstlerin ihre Kindheit verbrachte.

— Sher Doruff

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

A Reading That Loves – A Physical Act

von Yael Davids

Yael Davids Materialzusammenstellung, die bei diesen täglichen Performances zur Geltung kommt, rührt aus ihrem Interesse für die expressionistische Malerin Cornelia Gurlitt als einer von zahlreichen…

 Mehr
Kalender

Salon de Tomb: The Salon/Library as a Portrait

von Yael Davids

Die Präsentation wird eröffnet, und hervor tritt der Salon/die Bibliothek resonanter Körper. Davids stellt die Frage: „Wie zeichnet man seine eigene Bibliothek auf? Wo klingt der Vorgang, eine Bibliothek…

 Mehr
Kalender