Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan), Parterre (re|action) (2009), performance, Maison des Métallos, Paris, photo: Steeve Beckouet

Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan), Imposteurs, 2013, from the re|action process (2009– ), print on fabric and box, Athens Conservatoire (Odeion), Athens, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan), Library, 2017–
, wooden bookcases and books, installation view, Torwache, Kassel, documenta 14, photo: Mathias Völzke

Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet, born respectively in 1965 and 1966, have been working out of Paris since 1994 under the name les gens d’Uterpan. They are choreographers who construct a critical dialogue between performance contexts, live spectacle systems, spaces, and plastic art practices. By intervening in different exhibition frameworks or adapting their work to them, they formulate new modalities of appearances, production, and interpretation of dance (les gens d’Uterpan term it the re|action process). Their interpretation of physical presence questions the positions occupied by both the spectator (Parterre, 2009) and the choreographer (Caster, 2009) in this process. Further, by initiating collaborations between cultural workers from different sectors, their approach also integrates economic structures as an artistic component of the work.

Consider Imposteurs (2005–12), for example. The project is an artistic response to the retrospective monograph. A book object, it is also a critical apparatus for conveying information, with access to the work conditioned by a protocol that transforms the publication into a “living” archive. Printed on a long, continuous piece of fabric (260 × 305 cm), the publication includes critical commentaries and notes written by different authors, actors, and witnesses from the worlds of dance and the visual arts, as well as elements linked to the artists’ working process and the les gens d’Uterpan organization itself. Consulting the text involves unfolding the whole length of fabric; this immediately gives the work a particular spatial quality. The possible functions for this object, apart from being read, are numerous: mat, tablecloth, curtain, sheet, cover, wrapping, clothing … As the fabric cannot be washed, every time it is used a trace is left, layering another presence of a living body, and placing us back, once again, into the terrain of dance. The relationship to the body is further reinforced by the conditions of the work’s acquisition. The owner can conserve the publication as it is or set up a meeting with the choreographers to carry out the performed monograph. The iconographic dimension of the work is thus accessible via a direct relationship with the artists who temporarily embody the visual material, thereby transforming the document into an event.

—Pierre Bal-Blanc

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

Public conversation Geography-Athens, 2017

with Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

July 16, 2017, 4 pm
EMST—National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens

With the dancers Stella Dimitrakopoulou, Emmanouela Pechynaki, Vasilios Skarmoutsos, and Nikos Kalivas, curator Pierre Bal-Blanc and Franck Apertet from les gens d’Uterpan…

 More
Calendar

Géographie-Athens, 2017

by Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

Géographie is a score for a group of performers designed to take place within the spatial limitations of the place where it occurs. The perimeter of the floor occupied by the performers’ movements determines…

 More
Calendar

Avis d’audition

by Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

With the dancers Stève Paulet (company les gens d’Uterpan), Kostas Tsioukas (Athens), and auditioning dancers Ioanna Angelopoulou, Anna Apergi, Myrto Delimichali, Stella Dimitrakopoulou, Nefeli Kadinopoulou…

 More
Calendar

Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan), Parterre (re|action) (2009), Performance, Maison des Métallos, Paris, Foto: Steeve Beckouet

Annie Vigier und Franck Apertet, 1965 beziehungsweise 1966 geboren, arbeiten seit 1994 unter dem Namen les gens d’Uterpan; Ausgangsbasis ihrer künstlerischen Praxis ist Paris. Die beiden Choreografen inszenieren einen kritischen Dialog zwischen Performancekontexten, Live-Spektakel-Systemen, Räumen und Skulptur. Durch Interventionen in oder Anpassungen an unterschiedliche Ausstellungskontexte gelingt es ihnen, neue Erscheinungs-, Produktions- und Interpretationsmodalitäten des Tanzes zu gestalten (les gens d’Uterpan bezeichnen dies als Re|aktionsprozess). Ihr Verständnis von physischer Präsenz stellt die Position des Publikums in diesem Prozess (Parterre, 2009) ebenso infrage wie jene des Choreografen (Caster, 2009). Auch die Auseinandersetzung mit ökonomischen Strukturen – durch das Anbahnen von Kollaborationen zwischen Kulturschaffenden unterschiedlicher Disziplinen – gehört zur künstlerischen Herangehensweise des Duos.

Denken wir beispielsweise an das Projekt Imposteurs (2013), das sich als künstlerische Antwort auf das Konzept der retrospektiven Monografie versteht. Als Buchobjekt dient es darüber hinaus als kritisches Instrument zur Vermittlung von Informationen, wobei der Zugang zum Werk durch ein Protokoll bestimmt wird, das dieses in ein „lebendes“ Archiv verwandelt. Die Publikation, auf einem langen, durchgehenden Stück Stoff (260 × 305 cm) gedruckt, enthält neben kritischen Kommentaren und Notizen verschiedener Autor_innen, Akteur_innen und Zeug_innen aus der Welt des Tanzes und der bildenden Künste auch Elemente, die mit dem Arbeitsprozess der Künstler_innen und les gens d’Uterpan selbst verknüpft sind. Um den Text lesen zu können, müssen die Betrachter_innen die gesamte Stoffbahn auffalten, was dem Werk eine unmittelbare räumliche Qualität verleiht. Dieses Objekt kann nicht nur gelesen werden, es wirkt auch in zahlreichen anderen Funktionen: als Matte, Tischtuch, Vorhang, Laken, Decke, Verpackung oder Kleidungsstück. Da das Gewebe nicht gewaschen werden kann, hinterlässt jeder Gebrauch Spuren, Ablagerungen der Präsenz lebendiger Körper, was wiederum auf das Feld des Tanzes verweist. Diese Beziehung zum Körper verstärkt sich noch durch die Bedingungen, unter denen das Werk erworben werden kann. Der Eigentümer oder die Eigentümerin kann die Publikation entweder unverändert bewahren oder ein Treffen mit den beiden Choreografen für die Aufführung der dargestellten Monografie vereinbaren. Die ikonografische Dimension der Arbeit wird mithin durch eine unmittelbare Beziehung zu den Künstlern erlebbar, die das visuelle Material für eine gewisse Zeit verkörpern und so ein Schriftstück in ein Ereignis –ein Tanzstück – verwandeln.

— Pierre Bal-Blanc

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

Öffentliches Gespräch Geography-Athens, 2017

mit Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

16. Juli 2017, 16:00
EMST – Nationales Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Athen

Mit den Tänzerinnen und Tänzern Stella Dimitrakopoulou, Emmanouela Pechynaki, Vasilios Skarmoutsos und Nikos Kalivas, dem Kurator Pierre Bal-Blanc sowie Franck Apertet von les gens d’Uterpan…

 Mehr
Kalender

Géographie-Athens, 2017

von Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

Géographie ist eine Partitur für eine Gruppe von Performer_innen. Sie soll innerhalb der räumlichen Beschränkungen des Ortes ausgeführt werden, an dem sie stattfindet. Der Bodenumfang, der durch die…

 Mehr
Kalender

Avis d’audition

von Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet (les gens d’Uterpan)

Mit den Tänzern Stève Paulet (Ensembe les gens d’Uterpan), Kostas Tsioukas (Athen) und Vortänzer_innen Ioanna Angelopoulou, Anna Apergi, Myrto Delimichali, Stella Dimitrakopoulou, Nefeli Kadinopoulou…

 Mehr
Kalender