Bonita Ely

Bonita Ely, Thunderbolt (2010/2012), recycled metal windmill, solar panels, wood, electronics, and LED lighting, height: 6.5 m, © Bonita Ely/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

For Bonita Ely, who was born in Australia in 1946 and works in Sydney, an ecology is a system of interdependence in which different elements support and sustain each other. In harmony, an ecology is strong; when disrupted, its fragility manifests.

The Murray River Project (1977– ) demonstrates Ely’s lifelong commitment to ecological concerns. Prior to colonial settlement, the Murray River—the largest and most important Australian river complex—was a sacred waterway for the Aboriginal communities living on its shores. Today, the river is in a perilous state. Ely’s recent engagement involves photographic documentation of the dry, contaminated river, its minutiae forensically observed, contextualized by incisions into the surrounding landscapes. Crime scenes of some sort, macabre stagings of a death in progress.

Ely’s inquiry into sites of ecological injury is a point of departure to consider how trauma can be understood in environmental but also social, political, and cultural contexts. Her project for documenta 14, Memento Mori, combines the traumatic consequences of war and displacement on the one hand and environmental pollution on the other, in two large-scale installations across Athens and Kassel.

The first, a reworking of Ely’s installation Interior Decoration (2013– ), draws attention to the chronic, intergenerational effects of post-traumatic stress disorder as an outcome of war, which shapes the psychological fabric of Athens and Kassel: Athens as site of deep economic trauma and transitional space between Europe and the Middle East, Kassel as destination for Syrian refugees as well as home to one of the largest tank and ammunition factories in Germany. The installation situates militarization within the domestic space and highlights the domestication of the military.

Invoking a (not-so-)futurist dystopia, the second installation, Plastikos Praegressus (2017), maps out imminent scenarios for aquatic ecologies if pollution continues at its present rate. Sculptures of wondrous oceanic flora and fauna that have evolved to devour plastic waste from the streets, sited in the cities of Sydney, Athens, and Kassel, are shown next to botanical illustrations of these new “species.” Embedded in the work’s printed and digital materials, connections are drawn between the three cities through depictions of ocean and river currents, demonstrating that life on one side of the planet is deeply affected by the waste of the other.

Through these powerful enactments, Ely paves the way to an understanding of ecology as a trans-ecology: an intricate system of natural and social phenomena that permeates physical and psychological landscapes across environments on a global scale.

—Hendrik Folkerts

Posted in Public Exhibition
Excerpted from the documenta 14: Daybook
Related

#23 Interior Effects as an Outcome of War

by Bonita Ely

You are invited to join artist Bonita Ely in a workshop to discuss the ongoing, inter-generational effects of undiagnosed, untreated posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) suffered by family members of returned…

 More
Calendar

Bonita Ely

Bonita Ely, Thunderbolt (2010/12), recycelte Windmühlenteile aus Metall, Solarpaneele, Holz, Elektronik, LED-Lampen, Höhe: 6,5 m, ©  VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Bonita Ely, Plastikus Progressus: Memento Mori, 2017, verschieden Materialien, Installationsansicht, Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA), documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Bonita Ely, Interior Decoration: Memento Mori, 2013–2017, Installationsansicht, Palais Bellevue, Kassel, documenta 14, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017, Foto: Liz Eve

Als System interdependenter Elemente, die sich gegenseitig stärken und erhalten – so versteht die 1946 in Australien geborene und in Sydney arbeitende Künstlerin Bonita Ely den Begriff der Ökologie. Ökologische Strukturen im Zustand der Harmonie sind robust, während Störungen ihre Verwundbarkeit aufzeigen.

Ein Beispiel für die lebenslange Auseinandersetzung Elys mit ökologischen Fragen ist The Murray River Project (1977). Der Murray River wurde vor seiner Besiedlung durch Kolonist_innen von den an seinen Ufern lebenden Aborigines-Gemeinschaften als heiliges Gewässer verehrt. Heute ist der Fluss in einem kritischen Zustand. Elys jüngstes Engagement umfasst eine detaillierte, forensisch genaue Fotodokumentation des ausgetrockneten und verschmutzten Stroms, kontextualisiert durch Einschnitte in die umgebende Landschaft. Tatorte gewissermaßen, makabre Inszenierungen eines langsamen Todes.

Elys Beschäftigung mit Orten gestörter Ökologie führt zur Aus-einandersetzung mit der Frage, wie Traumata nicht nur in ökologischen, sondern auch in sozialen, politischen und kulturellen Zusammenhängen verstanden werden können. Memento Mori, ihr Projekt für die documenta 14, führt in zwei großformatigen Installationen in Athen und Kassel die traumatischen Folgen von Krieg und Vertreibung einerseits und Umweltverschmutzung andererseits zusammen.

Der erste Teil, eine Überarbeitung der Installation Interior Decoration (2013), beleuchtet die durch Kriege verursachten chronischen Folgen posttraumatischer Belastungsstörungen, die sich auf mehrere Generationen auswirken und das psychologische Gefüge sowohl in Athen als auch in Kassel prägen: Athen als Schauplatz eines massiven ökonomischen Traumas und Übergangssphäre zwischen Europa und dem Nahen Osten; Kassel als Ziel syrischer Flüchtlinge und Sitz einer der größten Panzer- und Munitionsfabriken Deutschlands. Die Installation verortet Prozesse der Militarisierung im häuslichen Umfeld und wirft zugleich ein Schlaglicht auf die Domestizierung des Militärischen.

Die zweite Installation – Plastikos Praegressus (2017) – beschreibt als (gar nicht so) futuristische Dystopie die Szenarien, die aquatischen Ökosystemen drohen, wenn die Umweltverschmutzung in ihrem derzeitigen Tempo weiter voranschreitet. Skulpturen wundersamer Wesen der Meeresflora und -fauna, die dank Evolution in der Lage sind, den Plastikmüll der Straßen zu verdauen (veranschaulicht an den Städten Sydney, Athen und Kassel), stehen Seite an Seite mit botanischen Darstellungen dieser neuen „Arten“. Mithilfe von gedrucktem und digitalem Material stellt die Künstlerin Verbindungen zwischen den drei Städten in Form von Meeres- und Flussströmungen her und zeigt, wie das Leben auf der einen Seite des Planeten durch den Müll der anderen Seite wesentlich beeinträchtigt wird.

Mit ihren eindrucksvollen Inszenierungen schafft Bonita Ely die Basis dafür, Ökologie als Trans-Ökologie zu verstehen: als ein komplexes System natürlicher und sozialer Phänomene, das die physischen und psychischen Landschaften aller Lebenswelten auf globaler Ebene durchdringt.

— Hendrik Folkerts

Gepostet in Öffentliche Ausstellung
Auszug aus dem documenta 14: Daybook
Verwandte Einträge

#23 Interior Effects as an Outcome of War

von Bonita Ely

Wir laden Sie ein, in diesem Workshop mit der Künstlerin Bonita Ely über die anhaltenden, von einer Generation zur nächsten weitergegebenen Folgen nicht erkannter, unbehandelter posttraumatischer Belastungsstörungen…

 Mehr
Kalender